RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Customizing Inside your Tank

Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 11:18 PM
  #1
Airbrushler
Thread Starter
 
Airbrushler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Customizing Inside your Tank

Hi Guys

i always have a hard time trying to figure out which way to go with installing new boards, speakers, receivers and Batteries
some of you make it look so easy they look Awesome inside
here is what i have so far in my JagdPanther
i would like to see some of yours and what makes you determine where things go hope to see some of your pics so post some of the insides of your tanks

oh and the most frustrating, arrangement of wiring is a pain


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PDR_2824.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	1.17 MB
ID:	1974290  

Last edited by Airbrushler; 03-02-2014 at 11:58 PM.
Airbrushler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 04:55 AM
  #2
ausf
 
ausf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , NY
Posts: 3,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If I showed you how I wire my tanks, I'd have to kill you afterwards.

Actually, if you peeked under the hood of my stuff, you'd probably die of fright or laughter.

My first RC tank wasthe Tammy Tiger and it completely spoiled me. So much space for everything, including two batteries, inside that thing that ever build since has been a struggle. When I do concentrate and put things together all nice and tidy with about 20 zip ties, I invariably leave something out and have to redo it all.

The Tamiya Pz IV is the worst, barely any room in the hull and much of it has to be left empty for elevation. Believe it or not, the JS-2 is really tight too. The rotation motor just clears the MFU, so any errant wire keeps the hull from closing.

Bob has the best wire routing I've seen on Tamiyas and Dan's method with DBC/Benedini combo is outstanding.
ausf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 05:47 AM
  #3
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,922
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've found everytime I do it properly and tidily route my wires something goes wrong and I have to remove everything. So now unless theres very little space I don't really bother, maybe one or two cables ties to stop things getting eaten by the gearboxes.
tomhugill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:05 AM
  #4
YHR
 
YHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 8,968
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here is the inside of a T-34. Not a lot of room in these. Battery lies on the bottom under an electronics tray



Here is inside a Sherman

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rc39853.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	98.9 KB
ID:	1974376   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020096.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	173.0 KB
ID:	1974377  

Last edited by YHR; 03-03-2014 at 06:11 AM.
YHR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:37 PM
  #5
Airbrushler
Thread Starter
 
Airbrushler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ausf View Post
If I showed you how I wire my tanks, I'd have to kill you afterwards.

Actually, if you peeked under the hood of my stuff, you'd probably die of fright or laughter.

My first RC tank wasthe Tammy Tiger and it completely spoiled me. So much space for everything, including two batteries, inside that thing that ever build since has been a struggle. When I do concentrate and put things together all nice and tidy with about 20 zip ties, I invariably leave something out and have to redo it all.

The Tamiya Pz IV is the worst, barely any room in the hull and much of it has to be left empty for elevation. Believe it or not, the JS-2 is really tight too. The rotation motor just clears the MFU, so any errant wire keeps the hull from closing.

Bob has the best wire routing I've seen on Tamiyas and Dan's method with DBC/Benedini combo is outstanding.

LOL Ausf ...thanks guys YHR looks good i'm the same as Tomhugill i sometimes think i have everything done then find something that i have to redo everything and start over again
Airbrushler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:38 PM.