Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Is it ok to recharge my battery inside my tank?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Is it ok to recharge my battery inside my tank?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2014, 10:19 AM
Jeff489
My Feedback: (12)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Did you have make any changes to the HL or Taigen electronics to use the LiFe batteries? Just add a low voltage alarm or low voltage cutoff?
I run Tamiya electronics exclusively, so I have no experience with anyone else's electronics. On my Tamiya stuff, I don't use any Low Voltage Alarm ("LVA") such as those used for RC aircraft, or a Low Voltage Cut-off ("LVC") either. In my case, the LVC and LVA would be redundant on a Tamiya electronic system since the DMD unit has an internal LVC and makes the tank cut out when the voltage is too low. I have run my LiFe's down to a point where the tank starts to cut off due to low voltage. No damage ever to the electronics or the battery.

As to the LVC, I'm unaware anyone makes a LVC that's useable (the only ones I know of are not for reverseable ESC systems (i.e. like the one from Dimension Engineering)) on a tank system. Of course, I could be wrong, as that information is a year or so old.