Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

HL King Tiger Weathering

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2014, 07:29 AM
Haydino

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HL King Tiger Weathering

Hey all, been ages since my last post, got out the KT after it being stored away for a few months. After looking on the forum at all these realistically weathered tanks i thought i'd give it ago.
So far i've done a just a wash with a acrylic based brown that i mixed up,

It's dulled down the "Sheen" that the tank had from brand new, which is what I hoped it would do.

I also applied this over the decals to dull it down and take away that "freshness" to the decals. Need to finish of the engine deck, at least you can see the difference in the wash and prewash.

I'd like to weather this further still, i've never used weathering powders before, but am keen giving them ago, anyone got any tips for applying them etc?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	342
Size:	2.31 MB
ID:	2038671   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	373
Size:	2.03 MB
ID:	2038672   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	434
Size:	2.51 MB
ID:	2038673  
Old 10-10-2014, 08:22 AM
Rustytrax

I use pigments last. You may want to look into some sponge chipping applications to add detail. Then get a fine brush and apply a wash to every seem. Once you get that to your liking dull coat the tank before you apply pigments. If you apply to much (easy to do) you can get it off and not ruin the work already done.
Remember if you dull coat after pigments any light areas will be absorbed by the dull coat. You may need to reapply.
Old 10-11-2014, 01:40 PM
BludoTheSmelly

I didnt get that one because of the shinyness of the camo. Yours looks a lot nicer i will admit. I got the other one looks good out in the dead grass of fall.
Old 11-03-2014, 08:24 AM
Haydino