Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Taigen or Tamiya

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2015, 04:36 AM
fumanchan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taigen or Tamiya

I am relatively new to RC Tanking, and I am debating between the Tamiya Tiger or the Taigen Tiger. They both on paper have their pros and cons, but building-wise and actually running-wise which one would be better for a beginner? Thanks
Old 05-26-2015, 04:45 AM
YHR

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The Tamiya Tiger is a good tank. Also there is an argument to be made that building a Tamiya kit as a first project sets you up for success as you progress forward in this hobby. When you have to build then you become aware and understand the components. The skill and experience learned here can then be transferred to other kit bashes or whatever else you want to do. A lot will depend on how much RC and modeling experience you are bringing in with you.

Cheers
Old 05-26-2015, 04:54 AM
fumanchan

I have about 5-6 years of modelling experience, and about 4 months of RC experience. I have been recently messing around at school with RC-ing the robots we build, but that is really all I have done with RC.
Thanks
Old 05-26-2015, 05:10 AM
YHR

Regardless of what you get, you will probably be OK. The Tamiya Tiger though is really good, and my experience with the other brand of Tigers has resulted in much tweaking to get them to perform consistently well.
Old 05-26-2015, 05:27 AM
Max-U52

Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts

I'll be interested in seeing how big an argument this turns into. This question has been asked many times before and every time it ends up in a big debate about Tamiya against the rest of the world.