Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Looking to build

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 09:40 AM
Tankkiller308

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to build

Hi I'm new to Rc tanks and I'm wanting to build one but I know the one I want to build is a little to complex for a beginner. so all you the great scratch builders out there how would I go about even starting to build a standard tank like a tiger I just can't seem find where to start. I also over engineer things and want really good detail so are there any K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid) methods out there to help me stay simple and easy.
Old 07-27-2015, 10:09 AM
Panther F

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by Tankkiller308
Hi I'm new to Rc tanks and I'm wanting to build one but I know the one I want to build is a little to complex for a beginner. so all you the great scratch builders out there how would I go about even starting to build a standard tank like a tiger I just can't seem find where to start. I also over engineer things and want really good detail so are there any K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid) methods out there to help me stay simple and easy.

Okay, let's see. You're new to tanks and you want to "K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid)" and you want to "stay simple and easy"?

Buy a Heng Long Tiger RTR.

Jeff
Old 07-27-2015, 10:11 AM
ausf

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There are many Tigers on the market, so scratch building one wouldn't be a great use of time.

If you really want to build one, start with a Tamiya kit (their best engineered kit IMO) and you can upgrade all you want in terms of over engineering with bearings, gearboxes, etc. But it comes with everything you need to make a solid scale rep of the Tiger I and would be a good basis of info to expand upon for your next build.

Other options are RTR tanks that you can rip apart to rebuild and correct, add details, etc.