Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

First tank choice

Old 12-14-2015, 12:34 AM
Ksionc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face First tank choice

Hi!

This is my first post, so i wanted to say Hello

I want buy my first tank, I'm completely new to this hobby, so any advice would be appreciated.

I'm looking for something of a 1:16 scale, that shoots BB's.
First I wanted a M4A3E8, But I could not find any 1:16 that shoots :/
So after looking around at what's available at the stores in my country I decided I wanted a Pershing (Super Pershing would be great )- i found a Heng Long one, and it looks quite decent.

And that's where the questions come in:
- there's a couple of versions of the HL Pershing 3838, 3838-1, 3838-1U, is there any significant difference between them other than smoke and metal parts?
- Is it worth to take the version with metal gears and tracks?
- I found a set of upgraded motors for HL, will I be able to install them without any problems, or do I need to change some parts? http://www.hayaltd.co.uk/Heng_Long_T..._12659225.aspx
- I found that some sellers say that their model has an upgraded electronics "MULTIFUNCTION Model:TK-RX 18 v6.0/7.0" what's the difference between the upgraded and "stock" one?

Are Heng Long tanks any good? Or should I look for a different manufacturer?

Cheers!
Old 12-14-2015, 01:32 AM
CaptainB

Hi Ksionc - Welcome to the forum and the mad world of RC tanks - actually it's a great hobby and very fulfilling but can be frustrating, maybe expensive and time consuming but it's a hobby so mostly up to you. Just enjoy it and don't take it too seriously.