RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

IBU2 Base with TPA

Reply
Old 03-18-2017, 03:56 PM
  #1
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HELP with IBU2 Base and TPA

Hi everyone, I'm new to installing the IBU2 base unit with TPA to my Torro Jadgtiger. I have some issues with my unit I need help with. I am using the stock battery that came with the tank. 7.2 2000mah. Do I need to configure anything from the controller or the SD card?

1. Volume is very weak even though I tried to adjust the volume knob that came with the TPA unit with speakers included.
- FIXED! = I have to rearrange the wiring on the JST pins on the volume knob of the TPA.

2. No smoke from the TARR unit and I already tried holding on the fan. I have the MK1 version. Using Taigen oil.

3. Also how do I get the barrel recoil to work properly as it is not consistent. I have the IR version.

Thanks in advance. [ATTACH=CONFIG]2206007[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170318_165949.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	4.19 MB
ID:	2206007  

Last edited by grrrrr_8; 03-18-2017 at 10:03 PM.
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 03:17 AM
  #2
Cruiser133
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 673
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

On the recoil issue, check to make sure the trip arm is being properly contacted when it recoils. I used a Tamiya Pershing recoil unit with mine and I fixed it by moving the arm forward and installing a washer on the rail to help it make contact when it goes through the motion.
Cruiser133 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 10:01 AM
  #3
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 1,317
Default

Hi, I saw your question at my youtube channel so if I were you I would first try just one speaker without the TPA. If you get good volume there at least you've narrowed the trouble to the TPA. Nevermind, just saw you got that sorted out.

What TX are you using?

There is a dipswitch that you flip for nihm or lipo, so be sure that's properly set. I THINK it's 4 and should be off for nihm, but confirm that, K?

Recoil timing is on the micro SD card. It can be difficult at times. Have you got a card reader?

Hope that helps.

Last edited by Crius; 03-19-2017 at 10:03 AM.
Crius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:50 PM
  #4
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crius View Post
Hi, I saw your question at my youtube channel so if I were you I would first try just one speaker without the TPA. If you get good volume there at least you've narrowed the trouble to the TPA. Nevermind, just saw you got that sorted out.

What TX are you using?

There is a dipswitch that you flip for nihm or lipo, so be sure that's properly set. I THINK it's 4 and should be off for nihm, but confirm that, K?

Recoil timing is on the micro SD card. It can be difficult at times. Have you got a card reader?

Hope that helps.
Thanks for the reply.

I'm using a FS-CT6B transmitter.

Yes I do have a card reader. May I ask whats your settings?

Here is a photo of the switch [ATTACH=CONFIG]2206168[/ATTACH]

could it be my battery is not strong enough for the TARR unit and the gun recoil?

also what is the red wire coming from the board?
[ATTACH=CONFIG]2206169[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170319_134930.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	1.26 MB
ID:	2206168   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170319_133216.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	3.28 MB
ID:	2206169  

Last edited by grrrrr_8; 03-19-2017 at 12:56 PM.
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:52 PM
  #5
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruiser133 View Post
On the recoil issue, check to make sure the trip arm is being properly contacted when it recoils. I used a Tamiya Pershing recoil unit with mine and I fixed it by moving the arm forward and installing a washer on the rail to help it make contact when it goes through the motion.
I just got the jadgtiger from Taigen and everything was working fine before I switched to the IBU2 board.
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:56 PM
  #6
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 1,317
Default

That wire coming out of the MFU is a ground for the recoil, I do believe. It's not present on airsoft tanks. On my IR Tiger One it's attached to the on/off switch. This could be part of the recoil issue. When you had the MFU in it, where did you plug in that red wire from the MFU and what's plugged in there now? My JT is airsoft so the wiring is a bit different. Have you got a photo of the upper hull that shows the wiring coming down?

I'm not sure about the TARR. I bought one but it never worked right out of the box so I went back to the stock smokers or the ones I beef up myself.

In the IR Tiger I think the recoil is set at 1500.

Where did you get the IBU?

Your dipswitches look good. Mine are set a bit different because with airsoft I don't use the reload delay so the only switch I have on is #4 because I run lipo. Do you just have the one battery? Definitely make sure it's fully charged. Low battery can wreak havoc.
Crius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 07:20 PM
  #7
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crius View Post
That wire coming out of the MFU is a ground for the recoil, I do believe. It's not present on airsoft tanks. On my IR Tiger One it's attached to the on/off switch. This could be part of the recoil issue. When you had the MFU in it, where did you plug in that red wire from the MFU and what's plugged in there now? My JT is airsoft so the wiring is a bit different. Have you got a photo of the upper hull that shows the wiring coming down?

I'm not sure about the TARR. I bought one but it never worked right out of the box so I went back to the stock smokers or the ones I beef up myself.

In the IR Tiger I think the recoil is set at 1500.

Where did you get the IBU?

Your dipswitches look good. Mine are set a bit different because with airsoft I don't use the reload delay so the only switch I have on is #4 because I run lipo. Do you just have the one battery? Definitely make sure it's fully charged. Low battery can wreak havoc.
Here is a photo of the upper hull and the wire from the board was connected to the circled heat shrink but it was easy to pull out. I have tested both 2000mah batteries fully charged and same results. [ATTACH=CONFIG]2206218[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-03-19-20-16-26.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	2.11 MB
ID:	2206218  
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 08:12 PM
  #8
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 1,317
Default

The wire with the shrink tube is for recoil. What's it doing now? Does it recoil at all when you fire? Does the flash go off?
Crius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:36 PM
  #9
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crius View Post
The wire with the shrink tube is for recoil. What's it doing now? Does it recoil at all when you fire? Does the flash go off?
Here is a video. Also you are right that the wire from the motherboard connects to a ground wire. If so, where do I connect it with the IBU? Thanks
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 06:18 AM
  #10
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 1,317
Default

This might help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEG0AO3lB0w
Crius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 11:08 AM
  #11
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[QUOTE=Crius;12317989]This might help
Thank you for the video. So I just splice off any part of the black wire and connect the red wire to it.
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 02:35 PM
  #12
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 1,317
Default

Correct. Recoil should work then.
Crius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 03:36 PM
  #13
grrrrr_8
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crius View Post
Correct. Recoil should work then.
THANK YOU!!! I got it to work now. Just need to clean up the wires. Will learn how to solder next and figure out the TARR smoke unit.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]2206323[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170320_163300.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	669.7 KB
ID:	2206323  
grrrrr_8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:39 PM.