RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Tamiya Easy 8 conversion

Reply
Old 06-18-2017, 11:34 AM
  #1
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tamiya Easy 8 conversion

Like many others, I wanted a Sherman M4A3E8 76W, as in "Fury". Since none were available commercially, I resorted to making my own. I selected one of my Tamiya Shermans as a base. It's from the original batch from 1974 and was pretty worn. I decided to convert to Taigen components for the drive gear boxes, sprockets. and tracks. It took a little modification to get a good fit. I kept the original bogies and return and idler wheels after cleaning and lubricating them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1933.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	2.15 MB
ID:	2220694   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1932.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	1.42 MB
ID:	2220695  
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 11:39 AM
  #2
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Since the original had no ESC or sound, I chose a Clark TK22 M-26 module to get that Ford V8 sound. I also used a Taigen speaker and made a new battery mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1925.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	2.16 MB
ID:	2220696   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1926.JPG
Views:	40
Size:	1.94 MB
ID:	2220697  
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 11:49 AM
  #3
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I next tackled modifying the body to A3 configuration. I got a new body from Tamiya and I got some intake grills and exhaust deflector from Tank Army in Australia. I cut out all traces of the radial engine deck and started building back the deck with the correct grills, etc. I planned to use a 76 turret from Taigen and therefore had to modify the body to accept that turret and it's drive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1927.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	1.68 MB
ID:	2220698   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1928.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	1.69 MB
ID:	2220699   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1930.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	1.87 MB
ID:	2220700   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1931.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	1.74 MB
ID:	2220701   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1929.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	974.1 KB
ID:	2220702  

Last edited by seahorse bob; 06-18-2017 at 12:02 PM.
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 11:58 AM
  #4
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I also used a transmission cover from Tank Army and modified it a little to fit with the Tamiya body. It's almost ready for painting and is coming along well and I hope to battle with my local group; FRAG this coming weekend.
Let me know if there any questions.
Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1934.JPG
Views:	58
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	2220706   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1935.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	1.60 MB
ID:	2220707  
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:54 PM
  #5
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

First time I have seen someone put a taigen turret on a tamiya hull. Its easier to just put the taigen A3 hull onto the tamiya chassis and make the fender extensions.
eventually you will want to upgrade those old cast gear brass bearing gear boxes to the newer ball bearing type taigen makes. I also like to put tamiya motors in mine as well.
Nice project its coming along nice.
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:11 AM
  #6
Panther F
 
Panther F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 9,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Thumbs up

Alot of hard work went into this and it shows! There are a few details (and a few unavoidable ones too) but once the FURY logo is on the barrel the point will get across. Looking very good.

Good luck with it on the battlefield! (always nice to see a Sherman project)
Panther F is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 06:39 AM
  #7
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Please remove the gun travel lock and its hinges, and shorten it a little bit, and then mount it up further on the glacis about even with the top of the hole for the machine gun port.
Lots of people forget to change and move the travel lock when they convert the M4 hull from Tamiya. It should have the same travel lock as the 75mm.
Other than that, you are going to have a very nice EZ8, I keep planning to built another one and make it a late war one with the oval loaders hatch since all of the ones available with the round loaders hatches were made around Oct 43 at Chrystler. In Oct they were transitioning to adding the muzzle brake and changing to the oval loaders hatch. I want to build another but so may other shermans keep getting in my way.
Nice work man. keep it up and show us the paint job when its done.
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 07:26 PM
  #8
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi guys and thanks for the comments. I should have mentioned that I wanted to use the Tamiya hull because of it's nice welding detail, casting marks, surface texture, and that I wanted to have the grouser storage where the two tail vents were. You can't see it very well in the pic, but I cut the vents off and filled in the vent area and left about .003 inch of the vent base raised above the level of the deck. I also have a Taigen A3 (75 mm) and though I like it, the detailing just isn't as good as the Tamiya. I wasn't looking for the easiest way to achieve the M4A3E8. Also, I'm working on using some surface mount diodes in the scale headlights and they will look a lot better than the larger diodes used in the Taigen. I'll post more pics later.
Bob
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 07:45 PM
  #9
sassgrunt
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pearl City, HI
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bob, I sent you a PM regarding this build. -Mike
sassgrunt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:10 AM
  #10
Panther F
 
Panther F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 9,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Thumbs up

Hey Bob, I think what you've done so far looks great and we do have to use what we have to work with. I didn't want to grocery list or go all rivet counter on the project because afterall, it's yours. I think once the name is on it it's time to do business and it will be fine.

I have build a few Shermans before (and still am) but you have to keep it in reasonable control with things. Like I wanted to have the oval loaders hatch (like the tanks used in FURY) so I grafted the Tamiya part onto Nicks turret:

Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2575.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	2220956

Plus I wanted a few other detail stuff added, in which I nearly pulled all my hair out doing:

Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2594.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	2220957
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2607.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	25.1 KB
ID:	2220958
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2929.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	2220959

So, I can send you a list of things that stand out right away but what you have done so far is really incredible and a lot of hard work! Please, post some pics when it's ready!

Jeff
Panther F is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 08:10 AM
  #11
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jeff thats what I plan to do on my next Ez8. I was going to do it to make an Old Phyllis a1 76 from Fury also, but really, i dont think US forces were issued the later oval hatch A1 76 shermans because by that time they got all the A3 76s and all the allies got the rest. But never say never....
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:11 PM
  #12
fynsdad
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: kettering, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 872
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

..don't do an easy8 as "Old Phyllis" as she was a M4a1 76mm with VVSS running gear...
fynsdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:40 PM
  #13
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I did say ez8 and Old Phyllis from Fury also.....
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 11:15 PM
  #14
fynsdad
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: kettering, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 872
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I stand corrected.....
fynsdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 06:35 AM
  #15
seahorse bob
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's a pic of the original sprockets from 1974. They have shorter teeth and I wonder if anyone knows why.
Thanks, Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1937.JPG
Views:	19
Size:	255.2 KB
ID:	2221074  
seahorse bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:52 AM
  #16
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It was due to the individual link metal tracks back then. I have the same ones on my 1998 dmd sherman i turned into my ez8 and pit modern plastic tamy tracks on.
im told the old metal tracks only work on the original sprockets though ive nver tried.
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 11:56 AM
  #17
Panther F
 
Panther F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 9,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not to be a killjoy, but the tank used in the movie FURY was actually an A2 and in real life it's nickname is RON/HARRY.
Panther F is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 12:44 PM
  #18
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

LOL. Yes most of us know they used a commonwealth A2 as a stand in for an A3. The overhead shots were CGed in an A3 deck.
Wonder why they didnt just find an A3. The other EZ8 in the movie the LT was in that got hit by the panzerfaust was named Matador. I have a few pics of it behind the scenes but not clear if it was an A2 or A3.
RichJohnson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 03:52 AM
  #19
Panther F
 
Panther F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 9,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichJohnson View Post
LOL. Yes most of us know they used a commonwealth A2 as a stand in for an A3. The overhead shots were CGed in an A3 deck.
Wonder why they didnt just find an A3. The other EZ8 in the movie the LT was in that got hit by the panzerfaust was named Matador. I have a few pics of it behind the scenes but not clear if it was an A2 or A3.
That's my point... MOST of us know. But not every detail was corrected in the studio. Just mentioning that as it is a movie tank and many features are not exactly like the intended A3 tank. What I learned is that they were to start out with the A3, but the tank broke down or the engine failed... something like that but it's close enough.

At least we have a movie with tanks and that they tried very hard to make it all accurate without dressing up one to look like something, or to just pretend with a coat of paint.
Panther F is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:12 AM.