RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

heng long troubleshootin

Reply
Old 04-30-2009, 09:41 AM
  #1
afmatt130
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default heng long troubleshootin

hello fellow tankers!! recently purchased the heng long panzer 3 from matomart.com. it has the metal upgrades, gearbox, tracks, etc. after less than one hour of run time the gun barrel started to cycle continuosly. then the turret started to rotate on its own. with the transmitter off and battery on, it does it, so i know ive eliminated the transmitter as the problem. i unplugged the wires for turret function...the tank still drives well though. any ideas?? im thinkin something took a dump in the circuit board...ive heard these boards are fairly flimsy. does anyone make an upgraded board with quality electronics on it...or am i stuck replacing it with more stock heng long hit or miss boards?? thanks for your help
afmatt130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 10:04 AM
  #2
ssrc30
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin


Quote:
ORIGINAL: afmatt130

hello fellow tankers!! recently purchased the heng long panzer 3 from matomart.com. it has the metal upgrades, gearbox, tracks, etc. after less than one hour of run time the gun barrel started to cycle continuosly. then the turret started to rotate on its own. with the transmitter off and battery on, it does it, so i know ive eliminated the transmitter as the problem. i unplugged the wires for turret function...the tank still drives well though. any ideas?? im thinkin something took a dump in the circuit board...ive heard these boards are fairly flimsy. does anyone make an upgraded board with quality electronics on it...or am i stuck replacing it with more stock heng long hit or miss boards?? thanks for your help

You might wanna try upgrading to the RX-18 board. It's more durable than the 14 which is what you likely have now. MatoToys sells them and so does RC Command.
ssrc30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 10:11 AM
  #3
thomasjohnmurphy
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: St Catharines, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

the question I have is can the RX18 board be used in an airsoft application? If so how do you eliminate the tank jerking when you up the right up stick?
thomasjohnmurphy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 10:35 AM
  #4
afmatt130
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

thanks ssrc........can i keep the airsoft application with the rx18 board?
afmatt130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 12:42 PM
  #5
thomastk
 
thomastk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: greve, DENMARK
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

hallo new to the forum try the antenna take the top of and check the antenna connektion inside i had the same problem whith my tiger 1
thomastk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 01:46 PM
  #6
afmatt130
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

had the tank apart...antenna connection was good. im pretty sure that whatever controls turret function in the board probably fried. does anyone know what would be involved in converting the electronics over to tamiya?
afmatt130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:08 PM
  #7
thebronze
 
thebronze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Delta/Surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin


Quote:
ORIGINAL: afmatt130

does anyone know what would be involved in converting the electronics over to tamiya?


$$$$$$$
thebronze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:26 PM
  #8
blitzkrieg65
 
blitzkrieg65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 2,841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

Quote:
ORIGINAL: afmatt130

had the tank apart...antenna connection was good. im pretty sure that whatever controls turret function in the board probably fried. does anyone know what would be involved in converting the electronics over to tamiya?

Or you can upgrade to EL MOD..... The tank below still uses the HL elctronics and radio, but you do not have too that is just an option, EL MOD actually perfroms best when you pull all the HL eletronics and use a Hobby radio! Plus the sounds go way beyond Tamiya..........

http://www.youtube.com/user/RCTankWars



The Blitz
blitzkrieg65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:04 AM
  #9
thomastk
 
thomastk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: greve, DENMARK
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: heng long troubleshootin

hmm freid bord sems to be happining a lot i installt acpu fan connectet to the power cords this cool things i usually run the tank for a long time (35000 milliamps)
this works[8D]
thomastk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:44 PM.