Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Tank tread pin removal

Old 08-22-2010, 10:34 PM
88mm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tank tread pin removal

I know this is a simple and basic task, but everytime I try to remove a pin from tracks on a tank, I get clumsy and always end up breaking a delicate part. I was wondering what your best proven tools/techniques are? Thanks.
Old 08-22-2010, 10:37 PM
BiggTony

Default RE: Tank tread pin removal

This is your friend. Cut the pin point off of the tack and this works just fine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf97773.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	1488597  
Old 08-22-2010, 10:37 PM
yellowshaker
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have a small 90 degree pick that I simply insert into the hole and tap lightly with a screwdriver handle. They come out easy enough usually.
Old 08-22-2010, 10:41 PM
88mm

Thanks BiggTony and yellowshaker. I'll give both a try.
Old 08-23-2010, 02:19 AM
sassgrunt
My Feedback: (1)

I have found that trying to hold a small-diameter rod, AND a small hammer, AND the tracks - all at the same time - is just too clumsy for me, most of the time. I have had a lot of luck using a small spring-loaded center punch in one hand and the track in the other. The General Tools punch that I'm posting a link to has a really slender point that usually manages to start the pin moving in one or two clicks - just enough to get ahold of the end with pliers or vise-grips. Any further and you risk the taper of the punch opening up the hole.

http://www.drillspot.com/products/44...c_Center_Punch
Old 08-23-2010, 10:48 AM
RCCOMMAND

ORIGINAL: sassgrunt