RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Truggy (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-truggy-399/)
-   -   Newbie looking for help with motor/servo selection (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-truggy-399/11664546-newbie-looking-help-motor-servo-selection.html)

haxxardous 05-09-2019 05:19 PM

Newbie looking for help with motor/servo selection

Greetings!

I am likely going to purchase the following chassis;
(JLB Racing Cheetah 21101 1/10 scale)

I am purchasing a chassis insted of a finished car because I will be adding a lot of custom features. I intend to create my own transmitter that will allow me to control the car remotely, from a laptop, as well as a custom battery using 2170 3.6v cells (~12000mAh) and a boost transformer to get 11.1V. I am a programmer, not an electrical engineer, so I would greatly appreciate some guidance in picking things like servos and motors, since I am so out of my element here. If you visit the website selling the chassis in the link above, they recommend some parts, however I believe the community here will offer better suggestions.

The power system recommended is a 3670 sensorless brushless motor and 120A ESC, 2650 KV
(I am sorry if this is confusing to any experts reading this, I am not quite sure what any of that means.)

As for the servo, I think this is mostly for steering? Therefore it does not matter nearly as much as the motor, and I would be open to pretty much anything cheap yet effective. I likely won't be too rough with it, i can't see myself needing a waterproof motor in fact, so if there is money to be saved, i am all ears.

I appreciate any and all suggestions
Will

RustyUs 05-12-2019 05:19 AM

Welcome to RCU.