Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    The new Spektrum A7000 retract servo claims to offer programable endpoints as well as the capability to slow the servo down using the Tx to mimic scale retract operation. Ihave been hoping to find some kind of review on forums but Ihave not had any luck. Is there anyone out there with any experience with this servo?

  2. #2
    TEBerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    436
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I have not tried this servo, but I"m going to go grab two for my next project... I could not get the other "standard" electric setups to work, but these look like they could be perfect. I went and looked, they show an example setup on the BVM pages.

    Thanks for posting.
    Blue Skies,
    Tom B.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    West Chester, OH
    Posts
    5,690
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    G. Samuel Parfitt

  4. #4
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo


    ORIGINAL: Warwix

    The new Spektrum A7000 retract servo claims to offer programable endpoints as well as the capability to slow the servo down using the Tx to mimic scale retract operation.Ā* IĀ*have been hoping to find some kind of review on forums but IĀ*have not had any luck.Ā* Is there anyone out there with any experience with this servo?
    I'd like to know as well, I wonder if someone has in use with a Futaba 10C Radio.
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I tried it. It works as claimed with my JR 11X. However, the specs say 240 Oz torque BUT, when I used it on my Hangar 9 Hellcat, it could not produce enough torque (@ 6V). I had a JR791 retract servo which is also rated at 240 oz and it has no issues retracting or extending the mechanical retracts on the Hellcat.

    It seems the A7000 specs are over rated... But for $30, I'd say it's not bad but don't expect the same level of power as the JR791 has even though the specs claim it.

    hk

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Thanks for the first hand experience HK. Iwould be swaping out the Hitec 75BB that Icurrently have in both my 60 sizeHangar 9 warbirds that supposedly only has 114oz of torque at 6.0 volts. That being said, the 240oz of torque in the Spektrum servo should be more than enough, but your comments make be a bit concerned. Hopefully someone else has had some better luck out there that can chime in.

  7. #7
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,650
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I purchased one of the 7040 servos. The first thing I noticed was the connector was too small. It slipped in and out of the mating connector with no resistance. I double checked this with several other mating connectors to verify. I returned it to my LHS and once he saw this he offered to order a replacement. I have never seen this issue before so I am assuming it is a fluke.

    I will report on this issue when received.
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Just because it doesn't say JR on it is no reason for it to not work as advetised. It would be nice to know how much torque it really has.
    Maybe you got a lemon?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    TripleW,

    I can careless about the name. I'm not loyal to any brand servo.

    I really was hoping the A7000 would work just as good as the JR since it's half the cost and allows for end point adjustment. But, from my one experience. It does not. I have 3 JR791's and they all work on the H9 Corsair and Hellcat rotating mechanical retracts. The A7000 does not.... Comes close; get's about 90% of the job done. Hitec 75BB gets only about 60% done.

    As I stated in my post, it "works as claimed" except it seems to have less torque than the JR791. Don't try to put more into what I stated. Warwix wanted someone with first hand experience and I provided.

    hk



  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Litchfield Park, AZ
    Posts
    152
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I have a pair that I installed in the gear for my Hanger 9 P-47 150. I am using 6 volts I was able to adjust the endpoints and slow the servos with the Radio. They have enough torque to operate the gear with and without the struts and wheels installed. I have not flown the plane, but all my tests have been successful so far. So about all I can say is so far so good.

    Cheers


    ORIGINAL: Warwix

    The new Spektrum A7000 retract servo claims to offer programable endpoints as well as the capability to slow the servo down using the Tx to mimic scale retract operation. Ihave been hoping to find some kind of review on forums but Ihave not had any luck. Is there anyone out there with any experience with this servo?
    Rick,

    Spitfire Brotherhood #188
    P-39 Brotherhood #25

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    HK,

    You say the Hitec 75BB only gets the job done 60% on a hangar 9 mechanical retract setup? On both of my planes (Spitfire and Mustang) Ihave had no issues at all with the Hitec servo getting the job done, and that is after upgrading to robostruts while using the stock mechanical retracts. If the Spektrum servo can outperfom what Ialready have, Iwelcome the abiltiy to set it up easier and slow it down. I might have to start putting a few bucks aside.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Warwix,

    As I mentioned before, I used it on a H9 Hellcat. The Corsair and Hellcat use a ROTATING retract mechanism which requires more torque so the Hitec 75BB will not do the job. BUT, for standard NON-ROTATING setups, it works fine as does the A7000.

    I ended up using the A7000 on a P51 and for this platform, it works fine. Plenty of torque with ability to slow down and set endpoints.

    hk

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Thanks again for the input HK, but Ido know guys that run the Hitec 75BB in the same 60 sized Hangar 9 Corsair and Hellcat without any problems. Either way, it looks like the A7000 is worth a look.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Warwix,

    Stock setup probably would work. I forgot to mention I switch out the stock wheels for heavier, larger Robart wheels. I also notice on bench testing it will barely work but in the air, it will not work 100%. I never tried it with stock wheels...

    For $30 bucks, the A7000 is a great retract servo and would be my choice over the hitec 75 any day. I'm just not so sure it's putting out the full 240 oz of torque as it claims. Or, it could be the JR 791 has more torque than it claims.... I've had the 791 keep on going even when the retract got stuck once and it just bent the push rods as it did not stop.

    hk

  15. #15
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,650
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I just recieved my replacement 7000 servo and installed it in a H-9 P-47. Had to spend a little time with the manual for my SD-10g before I was able to set the channel delay. Settled on 65 percent. Set the throw limits at 150% for both direction. The retract cycle takes about 6 seconds or so and looks really great!

    I ordered 2 more and will install in oither planes when recieved. I have always thought the biggest detraction for mechanical retracts was the cycle speed. Not a problem anymore. Kudos to Spectrum!
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  16. #16
    prop wash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Griffith, IN
    Posts
    1,036
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Well,it looks hopeful for my H9 P47 150 gear. Tom
    pain is just weakness leaving the body
    P51 brotherhood #40
    P47 brotherhood #34
    F4U corsair bro hood #91

  17. #17
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo


    ORIGINAL: prop wash

    Well,it looks hopeful for my H9 P47 150 gear. Tom
    Hopeful that it may work? or Hopeful that it won't?
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  18. #18
    prop wash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Griffith, IN
    Posts
    1,036
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Tex,why would I hope it wouldn't work?
    pain is just weakness leaving the body
    P51 brotherhood #40
    P47 brotherhood #34
    F4U corsair bro hood #91

  19. #19
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I read your post wrong, I thought it said hopeless; on a good note, I haven't got the Servo yet, but I was able to program Slow Servo function on my Futaba 10C and tried it out on a mock up, using a regular Analog Servo, assigned it to the Landing Gear Channel and it worked great; so, when I get this servo I plan on replacing the JR 791 with it in my Hanger 9 Spitfire.
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I'd love to see some video of the servo in action if any of you guys have the chance, especially in a 60 size bird.

  21. #21
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    I installed this servo to replace the JR791 I had, and like others have said the A7000 does not have the torque; I have a Hanger 9 Spitfire that I upgraded the struts to Robarts with heavier Wheels and Tires, and JR791 flung those up and down without a problem, this A7000 doesn't seem to have the power, I was looking forward to using a retract servo that I could slow down for a more scale like appearance, it doesn't look like the 7000 is going to work, I'm going charge up the retract battery to full capacity and try it again!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ge96105.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	63.3 KB 
ID:	1727498  
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  22. #22
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,650
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Mine has had no issues but I am using LIFE packs at 6.6 volts, which might be the difference.
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  23. #23
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo


    ORIGINAL: Lifer

    Mine has had no issues but I am using LIFE packs at 6.6 volts, which might be the difference.
    What Struts and Wheels are you using? I believe that for Stock Wire Gear and Wheels, this Servo should work without any problem, my set up weighs twice as much as the original Stock Wire Gear and Wheels, I wanted more scale appearance so I mounted Robo Struts with Robarts Scale Wheels & Tires and they are not light.
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  24. #24
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,650
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo

    Yes, I am using the stock setup. I do think the extra voltage helps. They also sell a high-voltage version for 2 cell LIPO packs. If usable, it might make a difference for your set up.

    Best regards.
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  25. #25
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum A7000 retract servo


    ORIGINAL: dasintex

    I installed this servo to replace the JR791 I had, and like others have said the A7000 does not have the torque; I have a Hanger 9 Spitfire that I upgraded the struts to Robarts with heavier Wheels and Tires, and JR791 flung those up and down without a problem, this A7000 doesn't seem to have the power, I was looking forward to using a retract servo that I could slow down for a more scale like appearance, it doesn't look like the 7000 is going to work, I'm going charge up the retract battery to full capacity and try it again!
    Tried it again with a fully charged pack, and the 7000 still did not perform, I'm going to change out the wheels for lighter ones; most of the weight is from the Robarts Scale Wheels & Tires; and give the 7000 one more try, it sure would be nice if the 7000 worked so I could get a more scale like slower movement.
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.