RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 11:14 AM
  #76
TampaRC
 
TampaRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: , FL
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

I am interested in the V3 for the TOP FLIGHT 84" P-51.  Anyone know which set might work?  The ESM Mustang is 71" so I'm assuming I need something stronger/larger for the TF ?
TampaRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 11:44 AM
  #77
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

irocbsa - No idea when exactly, ESM is being very vague. The best thing to do is to contact support@troybuiltmodels.com and get yourself on the "pre-order" list. It costs nothing to do this and once we get our stock in we contact people on the list from oldest to newest orders.

TampaRC - Please contact Patrick here at TBM, he should be able to point you in the right direction: patrick@troybuiltmodels.com

SunShyne - If I looked up the plane correctly they're calling for Robart's "ROBQ1665" gear. Looks similar but you may want to contact Patrick here as well for more insight.

Robart's:


ESM's:

Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 12:56 AM
  #78
juweeltje
 
juweeltje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: melle, BELGIUM
Posts: 125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

and? .....

who can confirm the improvements off the new V3? (exept TBM)
who have tested them thoroughly?

.....
juweeltje is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:03 PM
  #79
wallace.tharp
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 272
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Tone, thanks, I have been talking to Thomas and he says I have the V 2.5 He told me to just send back the actuators and keep the gear legs and other items and he will send me a new set of V 3 s. All good I think & very good of Thomas at VQ Warbirds, per usual. Thanks to both of you. wallace.tharp
wallace.tharp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:42 PM
  #80
splais
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

I just received my replacement v3 retracts and the main gear operate backward to the way the old gear worked. Does anyone know if I can just take them apart and reverse the strut block in the housing?

Secondly, could someone TBM/VQ please explain why the version 3 gear need a controller with a stand alone battery and just what this thing does?

Thanks.
splais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:47 AM
  #81
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

splais - The separate board contains the circuitry that let the unit know when to stop cycling. It also receives the signal from the RX and controls the direction of the motor. The V3 are stronger and draw upwards of 1.5 amps during the cycle. This is higher than the previous versions. It was decided by the manufacturer that it would not be safe to run off the same flight pack battery.

As for the reversed direction, simply reverse the wires on the exposed motor.
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:44 AM
  #82
splais
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Thanks for the info on the controller.

You misunderstood the problem with the main gear, but I'm handling that off line.

A general comment on the V3 gear. While I think it is ridiculous to need a separate controller and dedicated battery to run these - they are working very well so far on many ground tests. They are very quick, maybe twice as fast going up and down as the V2's.
splais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:25 AM
  #83
vertical grimmace
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: splais

Thanks for the info on the controller.

You misunderstood the problem with the main gear, but I'm handling that off line.

A general comment on the V3 gear. While I think it is ridiculous to need a separate controller and dedicated battery to run these - they are working very well so far on many ground tests. They are very quick, maybe twice as fast going up and down as the V2's.
I would find it surprising that anyone would run e-retracts on the RX battery! Especially with the current requirements of the 2.4 gig RXers. Depending on the size of plane, throwing another battery in the plane is no big deal. Especially if it prevents you from browning out.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:00 AM
  #84
splais
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

My setup is a little on the overkill side. A Smartfly Power Expander with two A123 batteries. The ignition on 3rd separate batt. Have no idea if this setup impacts need for the gear to have own battery, but I am following recommended setup for the V3's
splais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:21 AM
  #85
TampaRC
 
TampaRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: , FL
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: splais

Thanks for the info on the controller.

You misunderstood the problem with the main gear, but I'm handling that off line.

A general comment on the V3 gear. While I think it is ridiculous to need a separate controller and dedicated battery to run these - they are working very well so far on many ground tests. They are very quick, maybe twice as fast going up and down as the V2's.

Why would you want them twice as fast? Thats twice as unscale.
TampaRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:24 AM
  #86
splais
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

The version two gear were not scale, they were exceedingly slow and would not function at anything but idle speed and power. To me the V3 gear are "just right", not to fast and not two slow.
splais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:36 AM
  #87
Prop_Wash
 
Prop_Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

This tread seemed to die off. Does anyone have any reports on the version 3 retracts? good,bad?
Prop_Wash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:51 AM
  #88
splais
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

I now have the version 3 retracts on my Texan. They appear to a great improvement over the others. I did have some initial minor problems. One motor burned out immediately and TBM replaced it ASAP. No problem since. I have cycled the gear a dozen times on the ground and flown twice. Everything seems nice and I love the cycle speed. Unfortunately our weather has been crappy lately. Hopefully some more flight tests this week/weekend.
splais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:18 AM
  #89
Prop_Wash
 
Prop_Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Thanks for the update splais! Thats good news!
Prop_Wash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:39 AM
  #90
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

In regards to the burnout splais encountered, sometimes the screws on the outside of the actual motor are too tight. When they are too tight, the motor cannot spin freely and after several failed actuations the gears inevitably give up. Simply breaking them free then gently re-tightening with loctite prevents future binding.

We are testing all gear that leave our warehouse so a future DOA should be highly unlikely!
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:14 AM
  #91
Reverend
 
Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
Posts: 577
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tone Price

In regards to the burnout splais encountered, sometimes the screws on the outside of the actual motor are too tight. When they are too tight, the motor cannot spin freely and after several failed actuations the gears inevitably give up. Simply breaking them free then gently re-tightening with loctite prevents future binding.

We are testing all gear that leave our warehouse so a future DOA should be highly unlikely!
Tone,

can you show which screws you are refering to on a picture?

thanks in Advance!
Philipp
Reverend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:17 AM
  #92
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Reverend


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tone Price

In regards to the burnout splais encountered, sometimes the screws on the outside of the actual motor are too tight. When they are too tight, the motor cannot spin freely and after several failed actuations the gears inevitably give up. Simply breaking them free then gently re-tightening with loctite prevents future binding.

We are testing all gear that leave our warehouse so a future DOA should be highly unlikely!
Tone,

can you show which screws you are refering to on a picture?

thanks in Advance!
Philipp
Check out the PDF here: http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/ns/ma...structions.pdf

I've also attached a low-res image of that pdf for your convenience.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23075.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	201.2 KB
ID:	1820008  
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:29 AM
  #93
Reverend
 
Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
Posts: 577
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

brilliant, thanks!
Reverend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:15 AM
  #94
Asanders
 
Asanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 561
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

I have the V3 retracts for the 190d9. Do I understand that I also need a controller board to operate these? I understand the battery and have no problem with that.
Asanders is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:19 AM
  #95
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Asanders

I have the V3 retracts for the 190d9. Do I understand that I also need a controller board to operate these? I understand the battery and have no problem with that.
Yes you need the controller board, did you receive one with your retracts? We don't have a picture of the D9 retracts yet but here is an image of the B-25 gear. Notice the small black box in the back of the picture. This has one lead for your battery and one for your receiver. Hope this helps!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om31853.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	1820051  
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:29 PM
  #96
Asanders
 
Asanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 561
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

ok cool, yup I got that board I was thinking there was something else involved! Will be trying em out soon. Gotta build the plane first! Thanks
Asanders is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:31 PM
  #97
wallace.tharp
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 272
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Tone, I talked to Thomas at VQ Warbirds and he replaced my V 2.5 with 3.0 electrics and electric control box. Nice of Thomas, I had only to pay my own shipping to him. Problem: I plugged them in same as I did the V 2.5s which workded fine with my JR 9303 and 6 vlt battery..... but, they would only retract one gear at a time & sometimes not at all. Talked to Patrick at Troy Built Models and he said try a fresh 6 vlt battery. I tried my 6 vlt 2000 ma nmhd out of my P-51 and when I plugged it in the control went up in smoke? Held for 14 minutes for Patrick later today and he put me on voice mail. Any ideas? wallace.tharp
wallace.tharp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:53 PM
  #98
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

wallace.tharp, we were off yesterday so we've been playing catchup today. I apologize he wasn't able to connect with you. I'll make sure he gives you a call early tomorrow.
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:08 PM
  #99
wallace.tharp
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 272
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?

Thanks Tone, I see now why you are using the new box. Makes sense to me but obviously I am troubled that it went up in smoke. I know that 7.3 v is the max recomended on the included diagram but I am wondering if I could use a 2 cell Li po, 1000 mah, 7.4v? I am thinking no because I see voltages as high as 7.8 when I take it off the charger. Thanks for the speedy reply. wallace.tharp
wallace.tharp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:43 AM
  #100
Tone Price
 
Tone Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do you have ESM Electric Retracts?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wallace.tharp

Thanks Tone, I see now why you are using the new box. Makes sense to me but obviously I am troubled that it went up in smoke. I know that 7.3 v is the max recomended on the included diagram but I am wondering if I could use a 2 cell Li po, 1000 mah, 7.4v? I am thinking no because I see voltages as high as 7.8 when I take it off the charger. Thanks for the speedy reply. wallace.tharp
Patrick just relayed to me that 7.3V is indeed the max voltage. We do not recommend using a 2s lipo unless it's regulated. We use 6.2-6.8v here in the shop for testing. We feel this voltage is a good balance between performance and current draw.

We don't have your phone number on file since you're VQ's customer and the message you left was cutting out so please give us another call or PM me your number for help with your gear!
Tone Price is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:01 PM.