Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Senior Project/ PLEASE HELP

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Senior Project/ PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2017, 05:15 PM
alpha121314

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Senior Project/ PLEASE HELP

Hello! I am new to the RC field and with my senior year comes senior projects. They are required to show a learning stretch so I have decided to build a large rc warbird, but have been having trouble finding the right one. I am willing to spend a solid amount of money, along with a little help with my parents. I don't want a smaller plane because I cannot risk breaking the tiny parts, so I am looking for a larger scale. So far the best option I have seen is the top flite p-47. Ive heard that this site is reliable, so it is my most likely option. The biggest problem I am having is finding out exactly what else I need. I know I need to buy an engine and controller, but I have no idea what else to do. If you guys could recommend me any options or give any advice, I would be more than grateful. I definitely cannot spend more than 500 dollars, anything from 400 up is a stretch, but under that is no problem. Please let me know EVERYTHING I need to know. Thanks so much!
Old 09-18-2017, 06:42 PM
aymodeler
My Feedback: (3)

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

You probably do not want to hear this, but starting out in RC with a scale warbird is a bit like starting out running a marathon as your first race. The TF P47 kit is a great kit and a solid flyer, but it definitely is not a beginner's kit to build or to fly. Do you have any RC flying experience, and any building experience? Do you have any basics already (like tools or a radio)?