RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Fuel clunk line for gas?

Reply
Old 11-09-2012, 06:55 AM
  #1
Meschmidt
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fuel clunk line for gas?

What do ya'll use for clunk tubing in large gas tanks (32 oz or bigger). Tygon gets too stiff after a year and neoprene tends to split at the end over time when used with a heavy clunk. Taking the tanks out and changing lines every year is getting frustrating as some planes are not easy to do. Thanks, Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:04 AM
  #2
tfarmer96
 
tfarmer96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wylie, TX
Posts: 1,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Meschmidt

What do ya'll use for clunk tubing in large gas tanks (32 oz or bigger). Tygon gets too stiff after a year and neoprene tends to split at the end over time when used with a heavy clunk. Taking the tanks out and changing lines every year is getting frustrating as some planes are not easy to do. Thanks, Paul

I use neoprene gas line and a walbro tank filter/clunk. I havent had any trouble out of the neoprene gas line yet... that doesnt mean anything its just yet..

http://www.landscaperpro.com/echored...rlp340830.aspx
tfarmer96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:35 AM
  #3
F4u5
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 3,233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

I have used Tygon for years, and have never had the stiffness issue. It is true a get a bit hearder, but just a bit, and it will acutally soften again in gas. This is why I store the tanks with a littel fuel in them (keep lines soft). Of course, I always put Stabil in my fueling can all the time. If your line is extremely stiff, I would guess it is a lower grade tygon, or fkae tygon...especially the blue stuff. I use this tygon from McMaster Carr, and I have planes 10 years old that I have never changed lines on:

Fuel and Lubricant Yellow Tygon PVC Tubing


Tygon Formulation: F-4040-A
Very flexible
Soft (Shore A57)
Temperature Range: -35° to 165° F
Use with barbed fittings
Not only will this tubing remain flexible when used with gasoline, heating oils, cutting compounds, and coolants, it also withstands lower temperatures than other fuel and lubricant tubing. Tubing is semi-clear yellow; you can see something is in the line, but the view is limited.

View information about the chemical compatibility of PVC tubing.

ID OD Wall Bend
Radius Max. psi
@ 73° F Available
Lengths, ft. Per Ft.
5/64" 9/64" 1/32" 1/4" 40 10, 25, 50 5552K43 $0.80
3/32" 3/16" 3/64" 1/4" 50 10, 25, 50 5552K22 .72
1/8" 1/4" 1/16" 1/4" 50 10, 25, 50 5552K23 .82
3/16" 5/16" 1/16" 1/2" 35 10, 25, 50 5552K24 1.17
1/4" 3/8" 1/16" 1" 30 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K25 1.49
5/16" 7/16" 1/16" 1 1/4" 25 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K26 1.91
3/8" 1/2" 1/16" 1 3/4" 20 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K27 2.23
3/8" 5/8" 1/8" 1" 35 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K32 4.64
7/16" 9/16" 1/16" 2 1/4" 15 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K33 2.93
1/2" 5/8" 1/16" 2 3/4" 15 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K28 3.02
1/2" 3/4" 1/8" 1 3/4" 30 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K42 5.47
5/8" 7/8" 1/8" 2 1/2" 25 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 5552K31 6.22
3/4" 1" 1/8" 3 1/4" 20 2, 5, 10, 20, 25 5552K29 7.03


For clunk, the best is the Bennelt filtered clunk for smoke. You can use it with fuel, it is heavy (compared to the heavy weight Du-Bro stuff) and it fliters

http://www.bennettbuilt.com/shop/Tan...Gas_Large.html

Jeff
F4u5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:35 AM
  #4
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

I have found that if you keep gas in the tank the lines will stay flexible. I use tygon.
skillet92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:44 AM
  #5
Scar
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, IL
Posts: 3,120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

When I asked that question, the answer I got was "Viton". Bought some, will re-plumb tanks this winter. It's expen$ive.

Best wishes,
Dave Olson
Scar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:01 PM
  #6
Moggy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

+1 on Viton I use it for the lines in the tank and Tygon for exterior lines. WHen you consider the amount you use inside the tank it 's cheap.
Moggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:24 PM
  #7
Meschmidt
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Where can you get Viton?
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:10 PM
  #8
vertical grimmace
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Leave a little gas in the tank an your line will stay soft.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:23 PM
  #9
Moggy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

http://www.mcmaster.com/#viton-fluor...tubing/=k3gp93
Moggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:28 PM
  #10
Meschmidt
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

I store my planes nose down for more room. Leaving gas in the tank is not an option. I'll try some of this Viton tubing. Thanks moggy
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:45 PM
  #11
BOLTMAN
 
BOLTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bundaberg, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 767
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

I have just set up a Dubro 24oz tank with Viton as the clunk line. As it sits at the moment ( no fuel in it yet ) the clunk ( std Dubro ) does not even touch the bottom of the tank. Will it soften once fuel ( gas ) goes in it? I don't like the idea of leaving fuel in it for storage.
BOLTMAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:44 PM
  #12
overbuild
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOUTH EAST PA, PA
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Stihl dealers have a black flexable fuel line about twelve inch inlength for use inside fuel tank. It worksgreat for me. The costper piece was about $1.75. It stopped my problem of the clunk not returning tothe tank bottom.I also use a weedwacker weighted kiunk.
overbuild is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:10 PM
  #13
F4u5
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 3,233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Bolt, Yes, it will soften with Fuel. How much may depend on the quality of Tygon you use.

Jeff
F4u5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:29 PM
  #14
600Bob
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , OR
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

I'm using the Rotoflow tanks now, never have to take them apart or fix leaks again...I hope.
600Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:11 PM
  #15
BubbasanJohn
 
BubbasanJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: , CA
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

+1 rototanks!!! Great product
BubbasanJohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:57 AM
  #16
Granpooba
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Queensbury, NY
Posts: 1,357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 600Bob

I'm using the Rotoflow tanks now, never have to take them apart or fix leaks again...I hope.
Have yet to try a Rotoflow tank. But from what I have heard and read, they may be the way to go. Next plane will most likely have a Rotoflow installed.
Granpooba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:50 AM
  #17
Moggy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

If I'm putting a minimum of $2000 in the air I'm not going to skimp on $5 a foot for viton.
Moggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:51 PM
  #18
airega1
 
airega1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

This is the best idea I've seen! saves on fuel line, easy replacement
Attached Images
 
airega1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:45 PM
  #19
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Is that flex piece Viton?
Looks like a good idea. The Viton I have is too stiff, I used a heavy clunk and had to put a nut on this for extra weight.
I'll try this, thanks
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 03:56 AM
  #20
airega1
 
airega1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OliverJacob

Is that flex piece Viton?
Looks like a good idea. The Viton I have is too stiff, I used a heavy clunk and had to put a nut on this for extra weight.
I'll try this, thanks
I doubt if Viton was used for that install, I would use Tygon
BYW this was not my idea I picked it up here on RCU
airega1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:26 AM
  #21
TLH101
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

Check out the fuel line made by Echo for their power equipment. Stands up very well to todays gas and is very flexible. It's also available in several sizes. I work on small engines for a living, and find the line from Echo to need less replacement than other brands I work on. Just ask you local dealer to show you the "bulk" Echo fuel line. I beleive what you need would be #90014 or #90015. I don't use gas anymore so I have sorta gotten away from the set-ups.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:19 AM
  #22
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel clunk line for gas?

The stuff y'all are buying at the chain saw shops is Viton which is hands down the best fuel tubing for gas clunk lines.

Add a ceramic clunk and you've arrived at a bullet proof tank installation.
Poulan 530095646
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:36 AM.