RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Top Flite Giant Zero 86" Span.

Reply
Old 02-13-2017, 12:26 PM
  #426
edwmar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: atlanta, GA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey there, I have the topflite zero as well and am highly interested in going electric! Would you be willing to share pics of your planes internal setup to support batteries etc? I've been trying to come up with a means to do so but with its short nose it doesn't seem to easily lend itself to creating a fuselage battery hatch. Thanks a ton!
-edwin marshall (kmarshall.jr@gmail.com)
edwmar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 12:46 PM
  #427
Bryan McLarty
 
Bryan McLarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Has anyone used a Saito FG-60 3cyl. gas radial on this plane in this thread? What were the balance issues needed? What about removing the pre-installed noseweights?
Bryan McLarty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 02:07 PM
  #428
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan McLarty View Post
Has anyone used a Saito FG-60 3cyl. gas radial on this plane in this thread? What were the balance issues needed? What about removing the pre-installed noseweights?
The Cg needs to be about 3/4 inch back from there recommended setting
aquaskiman is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 08:18 AM
  #429
fox02100
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi,

I am building this zero from Topflite with DLE 55 RA

You can see this build here ( sorry by french but there is many pictures ) :

Montage Zero Top Flite DLE 55 RA

I removed the leads in the noze... not easy because I had to open the fuse to be able to access to the nilstop nut
fox02100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 12:21 PM
  #430
SWORDSN
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why did you remove the weights?
SWORDSN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 01:02 PM
  #431
fox02100
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I removed weights to optimize total weight

My idea is to put the 3 Life pack as much as possible on the front by making new engine support

If I success, I will save 1,4kg

These weights are really at a bad place... too close to the gravity center !
fox02100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 01:25 PM
  #432
SWORDSN
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You will probably still have to add some weight to the front.I'm using a DLE55 with the factory weights and i placed one life bat. behind the CG .What you are doing ,as you say,will allow for a lighter craft.Let us know how she flies.Mine flies very well.
SWORDSN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 06:02 AM
  #433
sfl
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anybody here that did a electric conversion of this plane?
I am interested!
Would be great to see some pic's, especially the battery hatch would be a challenge...
Regards SFL
sfl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 03:31 PM
  #434
Todd D
 
Todd D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 438
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWORDSN View Post
You will probably still have to add some weight to the front.I'm using a DLE55 with the factory weights and i placed one life bat. behind the CG .What you are doing ,as you say,will allow for a lighter craft.Let us know how she flies.Mine flies very well.
Anyone flying this plane with a G62? Wondering if that engine would be OK if the builder were to remove the factory installed weights? Thoughts?
thanks
Todd D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 11:20 AM
  #435
SWORDSN
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm not sure how it would compare.How much do the weights, that you removed,weigh?
SWORDSN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 04:53 PM
  #436
Todd D
 
Todd D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 438
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry should have been more clear. I don't have the plane currently. Since I have a G62 on the shelf just kind of looking for a plane for it. I saw one fly and it looked nice.
Anyone currentlt flying one with a G62?
Todd D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 02:31 AM
  #437
fox02100
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I removed factory weight
Total 1.4kg

I use DLE 55 and put in the cowl 2 Life A123 2500mAh
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0996.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	1,015.0 KB
ID:	2231097  
fox02100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 03:21 AM
  #438
bladebender
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WATERFORD, MI
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Lifer how much for ringmaster 40.
bladebender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 05:36 AM
  #439
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,934
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

bladebender,

I sold a control-line Ringmaster kit about a year ago. I don't have anymore.
Lifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 04:31 AM
  #440
dasintex
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine Heat & Batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by fox02100 View Post
I removed factory weight
Total 1.4kg

I use DLE 55 and put in the cowl 2 Life A123 2500mAh
Any anticipated issues with engine Heat and the Batteries?
dasintex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 09:08 AM
  #441
fox02100
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dasintex View Post
Any anticipated issues with engine Heat and the Batteries?
it is a good question !

I hope I will not face any trouble

Factory request to put Lipo in the cowl ( on the top of engine mount )

I put Life A123, I think stronger than Lipo
fox02100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:05 AM.