Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Maiden preflight tuning, result 1 then 2 failed hs 635 servos

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Maiden preflight tuning, result 1 then 2 failed hs 635 servos

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2014, 08:07 PM
Shaun Evans

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi,

I guess I wasn't aware that metal geared servos are called for in gasoline applications necessarily. I thought metal gear is a good consideration for applications where shock (steering) or heavy tension (large flaps) are an issue. Does everyone use metal gear on gassers? I have very little experience with gassers....
Old 11-10-2014, 08:54 PM
invertmast
My Feedback: (23)

Received 225 Likes on 116 Posts

Originally Posted by YellowAircraft
Hi,

I guess I wasn't aware that metal geared servos are called for in gasoline applications necessarily. I thought metal gear is a good consideration for applications where shock (steering) or heavy tension (large flaps) are an issue. Does everyone use metal gear on gassers? I have very little experience with gassers....
Ive never seen anything that specifically states they Have to be used (except on most 3D style aerobatic models), its more for piece of mind.

Most every servo application for models is overkill when the linkage geometry is properly setup. In reality, a 50% airplane could be flown using nothing more than some standard nylon gear analog servos, if done properly.

most people (myself included) use metal gear servos for that extra piece of mind, especially when you get into the larger models, its more common that the servos are metal geared with the high torque servos than they arent metal geared.
Old 11-11-2014, 05:27 AM
willig10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Mike and others: