RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Kolm 135 install in CARF Mustang

Reply
Old 11-21-2014, 03:15 PM
  #51
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok thank you Guys !

So, why Esc ? It is a Brushless outrunner. How You will Handle it ?? Best you use. Cheap Esc, Maybe Opto, with about 50 amps.
You programm a softstart an Then You do the Esc on a tip-Switch in your Rx. That Looks so cool!
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 03:21 PM
  #52
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

On monday i Post you a litte Description of the Cooling System with some pics.
Its always the Same Procedere. the Most Important thing is to get the hot air Out!
And i Think All online-Engines should have Temp-telemetry.

and: isolate the Carbs, if the are on the "hot" side!
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 08:57 PM
  #53
2walla
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: walla walla, WA
Posts: 707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

thanks for posting the pics. I would think that ideally there would be an rpm output on the ignition that would lockout the starter from engaging once the engine was running. You could probably use logic on a jeti transmitter with rpm telemetry to prevent it too. Would make a cheap speed control a very viable option.

Last edited by 2walla; 11-21-2014 at 09:02 PM.
2walla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:13 PM
  #54
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think the 4 Cylinder was a special request for the Ghost only..


Quote:
Originally Posted by 70 ragtop View Post
I think the early videos are with the 3 cylinder 150, then later they installed a 4 cylinder 200. Personally I think the 3 cylinder version sounds better, but that's just me.

Nevertheless, this should be an awesome plane, with a very cool sound once complete! Will be following along with great interest
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:23 PM
  #55
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You are Right 2walla. The ignition has such an Output.
But it's Not needed to Cut the stArter Off. If the engine rund And You press start, Nothing will Happen because of the free run.

Hello gerry
the 4zylinder was for the ghost, You are Right. But in 2015 i Think it will be on Kolm-List And able to by for everyone.
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:31 PM
  #56
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

From what I have seen, you do NOT want to use the ESC for a soft start-up. On the KOLM engine you want FULL power to hit. Here is a GREAT video of Tom's IL150 with the starter.. You can hear and see the power needed to turn it over...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ad7QIqs-hsg
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:38 PM
  #57
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No my ESC IS doing softstart (Quikest softstart).
But mY prop Turns that Way slowly because i start Only with 2S Lipo. This is hard for the starter an i think for the Il135 You need 3S to start. The Concept of the Starter is 3S.
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 11:20 PM
  #58
Chris Nicastro
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 2,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Wright View Post
My question is why do you need an ESC for the starter motor.
Theyre using a brushless out runner motor so you need an ESC to make that work compared to a brushed motor which only needs a high current switch.
With an ESC you can program a soft start so the gears are not shocked from an abrupt full power start. I suppose thats one benefit plus the high torque an out runner should provide. You'd need a bendix with a clutch on a brushed direct drive set up I think.

Connect a Wattmeter to the starter battery pack and find out how many Amps its pulling. With 3S you have more torque for sure and the Amps should drop but its a heavier battery pack too. 2S and a different motor that has longer magnets and the right KV will do the same job.

Make it more complicated and design a servo operated cylinder compression release mixed in with the starter CH!

Last edited by Chris Nicastro; 11-21-2014 at 11:32 PM.
Chris Nicastro is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 11:27 PM
  #59
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hard for me to Understand, but i Think You are Right Chris
Also without softstart the gear Gets no Shock because the outrunner do not have so much Tourque in this low Rpm. So the System will not get damaged.
This Weekend we Test a Towing-machine with the New bx155 Boxer. Here the Starter is Running on 4s without softstart, because both Zylinders are on OT an that Needs very much Power!
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 11:44 PM
  #60
Chris Nicastro
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 2,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

In the brushless motor family the outrunners make the most torque. However you have to use the right one for the aplication. Because the torque comes mainly from the diameter of the motor the secondary feature that modifies the torque capability is magnet length. That means in a restricted space you want a longer OR motor for a given diameter to acheive higher torque. In addition you must reach a target RPM so then you factor in gearing and KV.
If your seeing low torque for this motor then voltage will help as long as the Amps are not too high. At low RPM with a high load you need more RPM from lower gearing to overcome the load.
Maybe this part of the set up needs to be perfected a little more.
Chris Nicastro is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 11:51 PM
  #61
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The gear has 2steps an works perfekt. It was tested hundert Times in Factory And One Season in mY spitfire. There was no problem with the Starter at all. I don't remember exactly but i Think it was Less Then 40amps. of course i Think mr.kolm did a good Job with that.
The other Systems with brushed Engines, a big gear-rod an a magnetic Clutch i don't like. From Sound an optik this is one ofe the best you can have i Think.
you will see it works!

tom
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 11:59 PM
  #62
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here on a Boxer. You see it's solid constructed. Also You have to Think about is, how You disconnect the Esc from the battery when You Switch Your Model off.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	532
Size:	2.21 MB
ID:	2049250  
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 02:04 AM
  #63
Chris Nicastro
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 2,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice motors, Id like to try a 3cyl in a P-51 later on. I had the CARF P-51 kit but I sold it because I wasnt pleased with the composite construction and wood quality. Maybe the newer generation of kits are better or the Spitfire is better I dont know but I really like the size and power.
Chris Nicastro is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 02:58 AM
  #64
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes the New p51 are Really better.
I have also the old one. I want to Build it in Winter with 3 Zylinders.

The he spitfire is sold And i'm happy to Build a Mustang
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 04:58 AM
  #65
SWORDSN
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,068
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Did you fly the Spit with the engine enclosed? How did it cool? Baffles?
SWORDSN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 07:50 AM
  #66
DEVILDOG
 
DEVILDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 297
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Whats the cost of an IL 135 U.S. dollars and where can I order it from in the United States if possible. Thanks
Scott
DEVILDOG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 07:52 AM
  #67
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Of course i did . You can see the insert and exit-hole with the spoiler. The video was from the second test flight. Its more save to do the first flights without cowling. So you can test the cooling when the engine runs well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	398
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	2049300  
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 07:57 AM
  #68
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Devildog i don't know exactly. You have to ask götz vogelsang.
In europe we pay about 2490 euro. Maybe it's a bit more because of shipping and customs. Don't know

by the way.... The IL100 is also an option for a mustang.
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 08:59 AM
  #69
Greg Wright
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Devildog you are looking at close to $4000 for the IL135.
Greg Wright is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 08:59 AM
  #70
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I know you can buy from Vogelsang, They are in N.C. or from Giant Model Products, They are in Missouri
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 09:21 AM
  #71
DEVILDOG
 
DEVILDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 297
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks gentleman... That thing sounds awesome. The 100 would save a bit of weight too. I will contact them. Thanks again.
Scott
DEVILDOG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 10:49 AM
  #72
rcguy5
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Tom, sorry for asking the question in this thread. I have a IL150 long nose, will it fit the composite arf spitfire or p-51? I am mainly looking to build the 3w p-51 with the 150 but may want to do the comp arf one instead.

Mike
rcguy5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 11:15 AM
  #73
Ixtrim
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Mike!
Of course it will be possible. All you habe to do is insert your new Firewall 3cm more back then we did at spitfire or p51.
I think its Also possible to use the installation kit of kolm. But you have to do a little fitting work.



Tom
Ixtrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 11:44 AM
  #74
rcguy5
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you Tom for your quick response. I see your 150 fits just in front of the leading edge on the spitfire. Is yours the long neck? Would the 150 fit better in the comp arf p-51 and stay ahead of the leading edge?

Thank you once again Tom, you are very helpful!
Mike
rcguy5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 12:29 PM
  #75
DrScoles
Thread Starter
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK Tom, Couple more questions. I have the cold side pretty well sealed off. I will close the scale vents after paint. On the carb/hot side, you mentioned isolating the carbs??? There isn't much room in there. I am also slightly concerned that they won't get enough air that close to the side of the fuse. Please look at the proposed outline for the cutout on the bottom, what do you think? Should I start smaller and cut it more if it gets hot?

I noticed you mention and had pics of foam… what are you using that for? I have a little plastic ramp in the install kit, not sure of where to put it! I need to get a pic of it.

Thanks, Mike

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5144.jpg
Views:	611
Size:	1.92 MB
ID:	2049364   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5147.jpg
Views:	591
Size:	2.80 MB
ID:	2049365   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5142.jpg
Views:	657
Size:	2.43 MB
ID:	2049366   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5143.jpg
Views:	574
Size:	1.94 MB
ID:	2049367  
DrScoles is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:35 PM.