Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Noob here what did I buy?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Noob here what did I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2014, 12:58 AM
mille806

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here what did I buy?

Hello everyone my name's Hector I'm completely new to this. I saw this old warbird and bought it. I know it has a OS 4 stroke and servos that's all I know about it. Does it look familiar? Does anyone know the make and model? Thank you!

Old 12-27-2014, 04:32 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's a P-51 Mustang !

Actually, it's probably some chinese brand arf. The giveaway is the upside down star-and-bar emblem on the wing.
Old 12-27-2014, 05:22 AM
metaldriver

A quick question Hector; are you new to warbirds or rc models? Also the plane could be a built kit of the Great Planes P-51 in the .40 size range with an improperly applied star and bar on the wing. As I have seen that happen. The easiest way to see is to pop the wing off and post a few picks of the inside
Old 12-27-2014, 07:45 AM
mille806

Ok thanks I will take the wing off today and post pictures. I was told it was vintage built in 1996 I'm brand new to the war birds.
Old 12-27-2014, 09:18 AM
invertmast
My Feedback: (23)

Received 225 Likes on 116 Posts

Looks like a Great planes kit build to me.
Old 12-27-2014, 10:41 AM
mille806

Thank you all for sharing your wealth of knowledge. Based on other photos I have found online I believe this to be a Great Planes kit. From what I heard the builder was respected in the RC airplane community he passed away three years ago his name was Don Zimmerman.
Old 12-27-2014, 09:01 PM
2walla
My Feedback: (10)