Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Ziroli 1/6 Hellcat Build

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Ziroli 1/6 Hellcat Build

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2017, 01:11 PM
DaleCS

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Tail control surface covered with Solartex, color "Linen." Why Linen? Well, if paint wears or gets chip, figured Linen would give it an authentic look. This is my first time working with Solartex - I'm very happy with its toughness, shrink rate and ability to form around wing and rudder tips. Also, having a fabric quality to it, one doesn't need to get extremely fussy with the balsa sanding.

Trim tabs were aluminum covered, so I plan to glass, prime and paint them - no Solartex.

From previous posts, one can see a third hinge in each elevator, inboard from those that one can still see in this picture. I don't know if the Hellcat had these, but from pictures, once can't see them if they are used. I've managed to hide them quite well. If one forces the elevator down farther, the hinge slot for them will eventually appear. At +/- 1 inch of throw, the slot won't be seen.

Now, torn between mounting the stab/fin, or covering the ailerons and outboard flaps - which should I do next?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4534.JPG
Views:	191
Size:	2.80 MB
ID:	2248813  
Old 01-01-2018, 12:46 PM
DaleCS

Ailerons covered and test fit to wing. Outboard flaps are next.

Name:	IMG_4535.JPG
Views:	152
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2249629   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4537.JPG
Views:	147
Size:	2.25 MB
ID:	2249630   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4539.JPG
Views:	139
Size:	2.35 MB
ID:	2249631  
Old 01-02-2018, 08:06 PM
Chad Veich
My Feedback: (60)

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts