Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

CARF P-51 & gyros for tail draggers

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CARF P-51 & gyros for tail draggers

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2016, 06:57 AM
luckymacy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default CARF P-51 & gyros for tail draggers

Happy Thanksgiving,
It just occurred to me to take advantage of the sales this weekend and order a gyro. I have no direct experience using one. If I want the most effective gyro assist on takeoffs and landing roll outs, it seems too me that I need not just the simpler Cortex gyro but the Cortex Pro with the extra channels to also connect the tail wheel servo to the gryo and not just rely on the rudder for ground control. On the other hand, it doesn't take too much speed to get the tail off the ground to render the tail wheel mute, but I'm just guessing since I haven't flown the mustang yet and therefore looking for advise from anyone with experience controlling a 45 to 50 pound tail dragger warbird using a gryo. I have talked to a couple of pilots who fly the mustang a lot in the past and each has told me they were the worst to control warbird in a crosswind they owned. Just not enough rudder authority if you build per plans.

I'm using two futaba R7008SB servos but not using SBus.

Chief's got the original gyro on sale for $210 plus another 15 to 20 percent off. I see the higher end one comes with a USB port but I haven't seen anything that takes advantage of it so far in my 'research'. Besides just future software updates, it doesn't seem needed at all to set up and run.

http://www.chiefaircraft.com/catalog...&q=3-axis+gyro

thx,
lucky

Last edited by luckymacy; 11-26-2016 at 07:00 AM.
Old 11-26-2016, 05:18 PM
Luft-Gangster

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts