RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

TopRCModel FW-190

Reply

Old 02-26-2018, 07:46 AM
  #101  
aatjame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I’m getting to the point of mounting the cowl. Would like to get In put from you guys on your ideas on how you did it.
pictures would be nice
aatjame is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 08:37 AM
  #102  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Don't have any pics but install some plywood in the fuselage just underneath the cowl. Drill and install six button head screws.

Dave N
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 11:13 AM
  #103  
affas
 
affas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 517
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Moki 180?

Anyone with Moki 150/180 installed yet ?

Does it fit inside the cowling and how is the CG ?
affas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 05:12 AM
  #104  
maddog-RCU
My Feedback: (22)
 
maddog-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Monticello, WI
Posts: 319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
Getting started on the Sierra tail gear. Don't know if this is the best way but it's what I'm doing.
Have to move the fuselage bulkhead about 3/4 of an inch forward. The rib in the fin that the air cylinder mounts to needs to
be move further down by about 3/4 of an inch. Should be able to make further progress on Sunday.
I've cut out a hatch to allow easy access.
Did you remove the existing bulkhead and moved it or did you make a whole new one?
How difficult was it to remove the existing bulkhead?
Did you replace the fiberglass section you removed to do all the work?

Would it be possible to use the Sierra tailwheel retract in a fixed lower position and not have it retract?

Sorry for all the questions Wingspar just trying to figure out if there is an easier way to get the tailwheel mounted without cutting into the plane.
maddog-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 06:45 AM
  #105  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Did you remove the existing bulkhead and moved it or did you make a whole new one?
I removed about 90% of it leaving only the sides that housed the blue rudder wire guide.
After determining where the new retract would need to be mounted and cutting out the access hatch in the fuselage, I made a new bulkhead out of 1/8" 5 ply plywood with a doubler on the upper part. I used 1/8" balsa and trial and error to determine shape and fit.

How difficult was it to remove the existing bulkhead?
Easy as I just used a saw to cut down the bulkhead near the rudder wire guide

Did you replace the fiberglass section you removed to do all the work?
No, it was cut out with a razor saw and will be reused. It will reattach to the fuselage with screws so it can be removed for maintenance. Should have photos by this week-end

Would it be possible to use the Sierra tailwheel retract in a fixed lower position and not have it retract?
I think it could but a better solution would be just use a fixed tail wheel fork and save yourself the need for a pound or two of extra weight up front to balance it out.
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 07:11 AM
  #106  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Spent some time working on the main gear install. First, I had to trim off the extra material at the retract mount. Rail spacing was fine but it sat to low in the wing causing interference between the retract and upper wing.
Trial fitted two pieces of 1/8" plywood on top of the rails to help this issue. Layed the retract back down and found that the wheel and strut would be to low in the wheel well. I installed two 1/8 plywood shims ...1/4".... on both upper
part of the mounting rails. With this the wheel and strut sat perfectly in the wheel well and the strut was parallel to the wing surface. Then loaded up the rail mount with West System thickened epoxy before laying down the
plywood piece on top
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	aa2.jpg
Views:	393
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	2256480   Click image for larger version

Name:	aa.jpg
Views:	386
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	2256481  
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 10:23 AM
  #107  
LtMash1A
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 160
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BigRetracts-RCU View Post
There is no real way to put good scale looking gear into the Top Flite FW-190 wing without the Modifications.
Robart really screwed the pooch with a crappy design. To lazy to do it the right way.

Just my opinion of course. ( And maybe a few others. )
I built a Top Flite FW 190, stripped the Monocote , glassed and painted it. RG 90 for the engine.Great looking plane but I never fly it because of the lame Robart Gear.
LtMash1A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 11:01 AM
  #108  
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by LtMash1A View Post
I built a Top Flite FW 190, stripped the Monocote , glassed and painted it. RG 90 for the engine.Great looking plane but I never fly it because of the lame Robart Gear.
Put Sierra's in it. Skyshark has a retrofit kit
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 07:05 PM
  #109  
LtMash1A
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 160
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by vertical grimmace View Post
Put Sierra's in it. Skyshark has a retrofit kit
Too late. You have to do a dihedral mod to the wing to make the wheels align on the Top Flite.
LtMash1A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 09:18 PM
  #110  
Reverend
My Feedback: (3)
 
Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
Posts: 600
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Guys,

just to let you know, I have designed a specific fan for the toprcmodel FW-190 that fits the cowl and the backplate of the original Toprcmodel Spinner. Its 3D printed in BDP, a very sturdy and temperature resisting material (110°C)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fan1.jpg
Views:	337
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	2256522   Click image for larger version

Name:	fan2.jpg
Views:	261
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	2256523   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-03-01 06_06_52-Autodesk Fusion 360.png
Views:	302
Size:	289.7 KB
ID:	2256525  
Reverend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 02:25 AM
  #111  
Kh@n
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Aarhus, DENMARK
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by aatjame View Post
Has any one tried the Robart Retracts? I ordered my FW190 with the TopRCModels retracts and was very disappointed. Last year I got the Zero with the factory electric retracts and could not be happier with their performance. After checking out the FW 190 retracts I found a bad air leak in both of the retract air cylinders. The machine work was the problem. Mike at Caiman (Gator) has said he will replace them with a set of Roberts. I would like to support him as I want him to be successful and keep more TopRC Models coming. I am sure the Roberts won’t be as scale as Sierra retracts but will they work?
I don´t know if the Robarts are fine, but so nice to hear about a dealer, who tries to work out solutions on a problematic retractset from TopRC.

I myself have got an answer from Bigplanes.nl. They are taking it serious and I now awaits answer on solutions.

Other than that, my "Butcher-project" is moving forward. Are about to install my Dle 111 and tank. Changed my FW-190 to "Weiß 9" instead of "Rote 13", which Dan- my wingman is currently building. Going to be soooo good with these two together, IF we get the gear to function properly. Test flight in about a month I hope.
Kh@n is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 05:14 AM
  #112  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Reverend View Post
Hi Guys,

just to let you know, I have designed a specific fan for the toprcmodel FW-190 that fits the cowl and the backplate of the original Toprcmodel Spinner. Its 3D printed in BDP, a very sturdy and temperature resisting material (110°C)
How much is it?
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 06:50 AM
  #113  
ForcesR
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 771
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
How much is it?
I bought a spinner fan from Reverend that he made to fit the TF FW-190 with FG 90R3 installed. I paid $53.00 USD including shipping, that was a year or more ago. The fan fits like a glove and is of high quality construction!

Roger
ForcesR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 10:39 AM
  #114  
Kh@n
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Aarhus, DENMARK
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
Test fitted the DLE 111 before cleanup. Perfect fit but needed to be spaced out about 1/2 an inch. Sparkplugs fit inside the cowl with no need for any holes. I did a quick test balance and found it's still tail heavy even with this heavier engine. So it's either lead or something useful so I'm going to install an autostarter to the DLE 111.

Received a better size swastika.



.
Looks good Wingspar. How did arrange for servoes for power and choke. Up front at firewall?
Kh@n is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 02:17 PM
  #115  
Reverend
My Feedback: (3)
 
Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
Posts: 600
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ForcesR View Post
I bought a spinner fan from Reverend that he made to fit the TF FW-190 with FG 90R3 installed. I paid $53.00 USD including shipping, that was a year or more ago. The fan fits like a glove and is of high quality construction!

Roger
Thanks for the kind Words, Roger. Glad you are happy with the TF 190 Fan. This fan is a bit larger so more print time and uses more material because I redesigned the blades so its $42 plus shipping. Shipping is usually around 18$

Rgds,
Philipp
Reverend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 09:06 PM
  #116  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Kh@n View Post
Looks good Wingspar. How did arrange for servoes for power and choke. Up front at firewall?
I haven't done it yet but they are going on by the lower firewall.

Dave N
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 09:07 PM
  #117  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Reverend View Post
Thanks for the kind Words, Roger. Glad you are happy with the TF 190 Fan. This fan is a bit larger so more print time and uses more material because I redesigned the blades so its $42 plus shipping. Shipping is usually around 18$

Rgds,
Philipp
How do I get one????
Shipping the the Seattle area, USA
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 09:54 PM
  #118  
Reverend
My Feedback: (3)
 
Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
Posts: 600
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
How do I get one????
Shipping the the Seattle area, USA
Wingspar,

just send me a PM and we can take it from there.

Thanks,
Philipp
Reverend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 10:28 AM
  #119  
maddog-RCU
My Feedback: (22)
 
maddog-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Monticello, WI
Posts: 319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
It's the adjustable pitch three blade prop from Toprcmodels. 22" diameter.
Did you ever get the prop mounted to your engine?
maddog-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 12:30 PM
  #120  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No, I switch engines from the EME70 to the DLE 111. I'm going to use the prop on my TopRCModels Zero when I get a chance.
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 06:18 PM
  #121  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Finished installing the DLE 111. Looks like I won't be able to use the fan unit at the motor and drive gear for the autostart is right behind the spinner.

Was strafed by Spitfires and took a 20mm cannon shell in the wingtip
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	a1.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	2256757   Click image for larger version

Name:	a2.jpg
Views:	381
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	2256758   Click image for larger version

Name:	a3.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	2256759  
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 06:32 PM
  #122  
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How much less diameter/pitch on your prop size will you have to go with the increased load from the scale engine fan? I have heard they have a pretty significant increase in load, with no added performance. I guess it is cool to say it is in there though.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 08:30 PM
  #123  
wingspar
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I won't be able to use the fan unit as it would hit the autostart gearing and support structure.

Dave N
wingspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 09:35 PM
  #124  
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wingspar View Post
I won't be able to use the fan unit as it would hit the autostart gearing and support structure.

Dave N
Probably a good thing. Would be a good item to have on your static prop for scale judging, but as far as flying goes, the top pilots I know have removed them because of overheating and poor performance.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 09:55 PM
  #125  
Katniss
 
Katniss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why would it cause overheating when it's designed to directly provide airflow to the motor? As long as the engine area is baffled correctly and air exits, it should be a benefit. Understandably there would be a performance hit of a few hundred rpm though.
Katniss is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service