Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Robart - 630RS 90 degree Pneumatic Main Retracts - HELP Question:

RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Robart - 630RS 90 degree Pneumatic Main Retracts - HELP Question:

Reply

Old 06-13-2018, 02:38 PM
  #1  
Electriceddie
Thread Starter
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Robart - 630RS 90 degree Pneumatic Main Retracts - HELP Question:

Hi Guys,

I have the 630RS 90 degree Pneumatic Main Retracts .

I have the ESM Model Bald Eagle (approx.- 15 -18 pounds) 72" span. Is there a rule of thumb for the size of the air tank that can or should be used? Robart makes 3 different size air tanks. Extra small, Small and Large. Does anyone know of the size tank to be used with a plane of the approx. listed size and retracts above and how many cycles that the tank will deliver. A cycle would be dropping the gear and then raising the gear = One Full Cycle.

Thanks Ed
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 11:56 PM
  #2  
CK1
My Feedback: (60)
 
CK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My suggestion is to go with other largest tank you can fit in the airframe or gang several (2 to 4 ) small ones together . A single small tank will rarely get you enough air to operate more than one cycle on the medium and large retracts
CK1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:01 PM
  #3  
Electriceddie
Thread Starter
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by CK1 View Post
My suggestion is to go with other largest tank you can fit in the airframe or gang several (2 to 4 ) small ones together . A single small tank will rarely get you enough air to operate more than one cycle on the medium and large retracts

Hi CK1

I have a Large Tank now but its to Big & Cumbersome too get into the plane. I have the Extra Small tank, but its too small of air capacity for these size retracts. I was thinking of just getting the Small tank which is the middle size of the 3 tanks they make. I never heard of using multiple tanks. Would you set them up in Series or in Parallel and I guess using T fittings.

Thanks
Ed

Last edited by Electriceddie; 06-14-2018 at 02:04 PM.
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:22 PM
  #4  
CK1
My Feedback: (60)
 
CK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes , you would use t's to connect all the tanks together in series since there is only one direction of flow from the tanks once pressurized . Locate the tanks wherever convenient and run a line between them .
CK1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 09:52 AM
  #5  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,902
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Two medium tanks is what the midwest AT-6 used in it's design,, it worked very well and easier to fit than the large tank would have been,,,
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 04:21 PM
  #6  
Electriceddie
Thread Starter
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Not Trying to Beat A Dead Horse:

Originally Posted by scale only 4 me View Post
Two medium tanks is what the midwest AT-6 used in it's design,, it worked very well and easier to fit than the large tank would have been,,,


Question:

Could you use , lets say two different size tanks without any issues? Ex. A small tank and an Extra Small tank and get the same pressure to the retracts needed?

Thanks
Ed
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 04:38 PM
  #7  
CK1
My Feedback: (60)
 
CK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

There is no problem with using different size tanks to get the air volume you need .
CK1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:01 PM
  #8  
Electriceddie
Thread Starter
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Finally A Good Fit:

Originally Posted by CK1 View Post
There is no problem with using different size tanks to get the air volume you need .
Cooollll….. Thanks CK1... Thwill make the install a Whole Lot Easier.... I was using the Robart Large Air Yank and it was becoming a real ***** trying to get it into the Fuse ANYWHERE!!!!!!!!!

Thanks Again...
Eddie
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service