RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Top Flite .60 Warbird Set Up

Old 02-08-2019, 02:53 PM
andernamen
My Feedback: (3)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top Flite .60 Warbird Set Up

So, I have been building a TF P40 off and on, mostly off, since 2005. Since things have changed soooo much since then wrt batteries. I'd really appreciate some advice. This is the year the plane will be finished. I am committed to Robart 615s but I am torn between an electric powerplant or a DLE 20ra. I have both. My main question though is the RX set up. Are life batteries the way to go? If I go electric, should I use the BEC or have a seperate power source? I have a 100 amp ESC with bec. Should I trust the bec? It is from HK. Any thoughts?
Old 02-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Chris Nicastro

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Great plane. Use the DLE 20RA, nice engine, easy to use and very reliable. I’ve have one on the TF P-51D and it’s a perfect combo.
Keep the power supplies separated for safety. When I first took over this plane the previous owner used one pack for both the Rx and the ignition. Yes it’s lighter but it’s also more risk.
Whether you go gas or electric you should have a LiFe pack for the Rx and a LiPo pack for the ignition or brushless power.