RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Modeltech SE5a

Reply
Old 05-29-2005, 05:55 PM
  #51
RLefebvre
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Ok, I flew it again today. Wing broke again on landing.[:@]

I've had about enough of this. The repair I made using carbon fiber was good, now the spar broke exactly outboard of where the CF reinforcement ended.

I'm thinking this spar is just plain bad. It's not like I'm landing hard and all the wings are breaking all over. Just this one wing over and over. I mean, how can the upper spar break on the upper wing, yet the lower wing it's attached to doesn't?

I'm going to try and get a replacement wing from Modeltech. We'll see how it goes.
RLefebvre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:49 AM
  #52
wbrents
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

RLefebvre, I have enjoyed reading your reports and viewing the excellent pictures of the Modeltech SE5a. I am about half- way finished with mine.

I have a question for this group:
The Modeltech instructions call for a NEGATIVE one degree incidence in the top wing. However, the review in the March issue of Model Airplane News says: "The bottom wing should have 0 degree of incidence, and the top wing should have 1 degree of incidence."

Since the author doesn't mention negative, he must mean one degree of positive incidence. Furthermore, I would be afraid of using negative incidence, unless the plane likes to immediately loop on takeoff without it!!

In RLefebvre's pictures, it appears everything is zero-zero.

So, what kind of incidence are you fellows flying with?

Thanks.
wbrents is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:28 AM
  #53
RLefebvre
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I don't know what I'm flying with. I just bolted everything up as it came out of the box and didn't even check it. Flies great. It doesn't seem particularly sensitive, as I had no problem in the air when those strut supports came out of the wing.
RLefebvre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:04 PM
  #54
captjack
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: bow, NH
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Normally the set up ona bipe is the top wing has more incedence than the bottom wing by about 1 degree.that way the top wing will stall first but the bottom wing will keep flying resulting in a gentle mushy type of stall.And for all that want to add guns to their ww1 aircraft i discovered that proctor enterprizes is carrying the williams line.
captjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 07:08 PM
  #55
BobH
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 7,593
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I would like to add that the SE5a full scale has 5 degrees incidence on all the flying surfaces. That's the top and bottom wings and the stab. The puts the engine at -5 degrees down thrust with everything else at a relative 0 degrees.
BobH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 08:43 AM
  #56
RLefebvre
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Just a little update. I have not fixed the wing since it broke for the 3rd time. I had my LHS contact Modeltech and they should be sending out a replacement wing. They showed one in stock, so I"ll get that next week, unless they can't find it. Then I have to wait for the next boat from China I guess.

I figure I must have a bad spar on that wing.
RLefebvre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 04:48 PM
  #57
jpg0529
 
jpg0529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Hi Guys,
Just starting my SE5a and have mounted the wings but am concerned about incidence as I noted both the instructions and the article in March 05 MAN. I have set mine to the -1 deg but still question it as I have read the top wing should have some positive incidence to help stall characteristics. I have sent a message to Global service today.

Does anyone have an update on this?

I plan on using an OS52 FS but it looks like I will be doing quite a bit of cutting for the muffler. I like the idea on the throttle servo next to the engine. Any issues so far with it?

I just did find one of the strut mounts loose in the wing so that seems a common issue.

Thanks to all for a great thread.

Joe
jpg0529 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:05 PM
  #58
sbd-5
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: suncook, NH
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

what is the incidence on the bottom wing and the stab?
sbd-5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:15 PM
  #59
jpg0529
 
jpg0529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

The bottom wing is set 0 as the reference point. You adjust the plane position to get 0 degs - the bottom wing position is fixed to the fuse. According to the manual, you then set the top wing to -1 deg. No specs for the stab but I just checked and is +0.5 degs.

Joe

Quote:
ORIGINAL: sbd-5

what is the incidence on the bottom wing and the stab?
jpg0529 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:24 PM
  #60
rcalfred
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elk Grove Village, IL
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Please wait for old "Dauntless'" reply. He has all this aerodynamic information and can solve your problem right away.
rcalfred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 06:29 PM
  #61
spitmad
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MentoneVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 854
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Guys

the correct setup for any Bipe (unless an Ultimate or other aerobatic Bipe) should be Zero incidence for the bottom wing and -1 deg (negative one degree) for the top wing, the reason for this is in a stall the BOTTOM wing should stall first and the top wing keep flying. this will aid in low speed stabilty as the top wing than acts as a high wing type model providing lift.(top wings are almost always a bigger wing area as well)

I have the owned many bipes and have found this setup to be the best, also the Modeltech SE5A will fly very sedately will no real worry about incidence (no need to be overly acurate) as does my Modeltech Fokker DVII.

cheers

Alan
spitmad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 07:31 PM
  #62
a65l
 
a65l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: va veach, VA
Posts: 1,963
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I flew my SE5a again this weekend, and again I have to rave about how nicely it flies. Looks great in the air as well, I really need to get off my butt and scale it up somewhat. It even flies good in the wind, although you have to mind your airspeed on the downwinds. No problems with anything breaking, but it hasn't had any really hard landintgs, other than when the elevator pushrod broke. I wish I could find one of the Fokkers as well.... they always seem to take the nice ones out of production...


Andy
a65l is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 01:45 PM
  #63
sbd-5
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: suncook, NH
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

this is where a difference of opinion come up but this is a direct quote from hal debolt.he has designed many bipes since the early days of rc
Don't no details of what you have but there is a stock biplane arrangement the provides all around excellent performance.
These angles are in relation to the line of flight and assume acrobatic ability is desired.
Top wing one degree positive
Lower wing zero degrees
Horizontal tail three degrees positive
If stagger is oresent, balance on a line connecting upper and
lower centers of lift.
Force arrangement works!
who you listen to is up to you but if a65l would post what his se5 has for wing incidence it could be a big help.
sbd-5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 06:55 PM
  #64
jpg0529
 
jpg0529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Thanks for the replies. I also had Global Hobby confirm the -1 deg incidence for the top wing. I will set it up as specified and see how it flys.

Sounds like it is pretty tolerant re setup. Hopefully, I won't have some of the issues I have read about here.

Thanks again,
Joe
jpg0529 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 07:01 PM
  #65
a65l
 
a65l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: va veach, VA
Posts: 1,963
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Don't know exactally what it has, the old eyeball says it has some negative incidence on the top wing and the lower wing and stab are zeroed out to each other. Pretty much exactally as it came from the box, I just hold up on the trailing edge of the top wing when I attached it for the first time. WE eyeballed some negative incidence, but I've never had a meter on it.

Andy
a65l is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 06:34 PM
  #66
OBrien Paul
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

G'day Guys,

I'm going to get one of these SE5A's, i like the look of them, now when i do get this i am going to take the covering off and replace it with a not so.....glossy? look to it & while i have it just as frame work ill strengthen all the joins and replace the landing gear with gear that has alittle more give, because from what i've read here you guys have had trouble with it, now a question for you all you think a Saito FA 72 would be good or an over kill?

Now when i do get it to my local field and people ask "is that a kit" i can say "mmmm kinda" hehehehe

Happy Flying
Paul
OBrien Paul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 07:44 PM
  #67
stallwart
 
stallwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Paul,
Any chance of a build-along with photos? I have one of these, but have no experience w/ biplanes. Tentatively, I have earmarked an OS FS70 for power.
stallwart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 08:04 PM
  #68
jpg0529
 
jpg0529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I fly mine with a OS 52 FS and it is plenty of power. Very nice flying plane.

One thing I had trouble with is the aluminum strut mounting brackets.

I sent the following to Modeltech support.
"Last fall one of the aluminum strut mounting plates on the bottom of the
>>top wing fractured at the bend. I replaced it with a plate I made up.
>>Yesterday another fractured and I went to remove the screws that hold it
>>in place. Unfortunately, they both broke off in the wing. On page 15,
>>you suggest epoxying them in place which I have done. They are not
>>coming out!
>>
>>
>>How do you suggest I repair this problem? I no longer trust any of these
>>aluminum strut mounting plates and was going to replace them all but
>>don't dare touch them. I understand why you say to epoxy the screws in
>>place but it appears the aluminum strut mounting plates are defective
>>and will fracture sooner or later and now it looks like they cannot be
>>easily replaced."

They replied.
The factory is addressing the aluminum plate issue.

If you want to try a repair, make sure the screws are level or below the surface of the wing, and redrill new mounting holes a small distance in front of them.

If you don't want to try that or it turns out not satisfactory, you can send a few ribs from the wing with a brief note (such as this email) to the address below for a new wing set.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
end quote.

I did repair it and so far so good but I thought there offer to replace the wing was "good Support".
Joe
jpg0529 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 01:19 AM
  #69
trdexter
 
trdexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: longview, WA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I love mine.
trdexter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:59 AM
  #70
chivas
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Colleyville, TX
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

Mine has a os 46ax in it and has plenty of power... Love it!
chivas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 08:24 PM
  #71
schwichow
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ROMEOVILLE, IL
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I HAVE THE MODELTECH SE5A .THE PLANE IS A VERY GOOD LOOKER AND FLYS LIKE THE FULL SIZE ONE (GREAT)

I WANT TO KNOW IF ANYBODY IS HAVING A PROBLEM LIKE I DID ??

ON THE 4th LANDING COMMING IN DEAD AS SOON AS THE WHEELS TOUCHED THE STRIP WE HEARD A LOUD CRACK LOOKING AT THE WINGS FOUND THEY

ARE CRACKED RIGHT WHERE THE SHEETING ENDS.

I FEEL BAD BECAUSE THE PLANE IS SUCH A GOOD LOOKER AND FLYER.I WOULD LIKE TO BUY ANOTHER BUT I FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. DOES ANYBODY KNOWS IF THEY IMPROVED THIS WEAK JOINT??

DENNIS

I HAVE FOUND THE REASON !!! THE WING SPAR IS SANDED TOO THIN WHERE IT MEETS THE WING SHEETING HAVE PICTURE
schwichow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 09:40 PM
  #72
stallwart
 
stallwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

I have heard of other issues with this plane such as weakness in the wing and wing spar.

Can you explain or photograph the area you are describing? I still have this plane in the box and was hoping to assemble it soon.
stallwart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:28 AM
  #73
schwichow
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ROMEOVILLE, IL
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

[img][/img]
Quote:
ORIGINAL: schwichow

I HAVE THE MODELTECH SE5A .THE PLANE IS A VERY GOOD LOOKER AND FLYS LIKE THE FULL SIZE ONE (GREAT)

I WANT TO KNOW IF ANYBODY IS HAVING A PROBLEM LIKE I DID ??

ON THE 4th LANDING COMMING IN DEAD AS SOON AS THE WHEELS TOUCHED THE STRIP WE HEARD A LOUD CRACK LOOKING AT THE WINGS FOUND THEY

ARE CRACKED RIGHT WHERE THE SHEETING ENDS.

I FEEL BAD BECAUSE THE PLANE IS SUCH A GOOD LOOKER AND FLYER.I WOULD LIKE TO BUY ANOTHER BUT I FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. DOES ANYBODY KNOWS IF THEY IMPROVED THIS WEAK JOINT??

DENNIS

schwichow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 07:56 PM
  #74
schwichow
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ROMEOVILLE, IL
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

MODELTECH/GLOBAL HOBBY

I WISH TO THANK THEM IN HELPING ME WITH MY PROBLEM

THEY HAVE EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS
AGAIN THANK YOU

DENNIS
schwichow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 09:57 AM
  #75
asnook
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: herts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modeltech SE5a

She flies great with some small mods, enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OlcgeNPgKVk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yBCPC9yA9k

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFteen3dXHw
asnook is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:35 PM.