RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Top Flite P-40 or P-47 ?

Old 10-13-2002, 03:34 AM
fourstar40
My Feedback: (27)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top Flite P-40 or P-47 ?

I am getting a warbird for christmas this year and I would like your opinion on what to get. I really like the looks of the P-40 but I have heard and read things about its flight characteristics that would tend to turn me towards the P-47. I have been flying for over 8 years and am a pretty good pilot. But, I don't want a plane that i have to fight with everytime I take it up. I, also, have read that the P-47 is a good flyer. Don't get me wrong, I like the looks and fame of the P-47 but there is just someting about a P-40. I would, though, give up looks for flight performance everytime.

Your assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-13-2002, 09:50 AM
tinman
My Feedback: (13)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default .

the p40 flies well also but requires excellent ground (takeoff) handling. it needs alot of right rudder due to the short span between the wheels. i do like the looks of the p40 also
-Tinman-
Old 10-13-2002, 01:02 PM
lnorris
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

*deleted*
Old 10-13-2002, 01:24 PM
fourstar40

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Ok, I am going to use monokote for the covering and will go with the fixed gear for now. And I am going to leave off all the extra stuff that you can put on the p-40. Would it then be nice and light and a better flyer?
Old 10-13-2002, 01:48 PM
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback