Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

H-9 P-51 aftermarket retracts question

Does Robart or any other retract company make literally a "plug and play" aftermarket retract that is strong and looks good? I'm looking for a no mess, perfect size aftermarket retract for the H-9 60 sized P-51. I have read all the stories about wobbles and crappy retract from the factory. Please help me. This is my first attempt at retracts and I should be getting the plane in at the end of this week. Thanks.
    -Brian
    Revver Bro #134

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: H-9 P-51 aftermarket retracts question

Brian,
    You do not say what size your h-9 is , but it may not matter anyway. I will also be puttting robarts in my h-9 this week and know by experience that not only am I upgrading the retracts, i will be modifing the wing strenght. There are also many good references to this topic here on RCU also.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

ORIGINAL: setxws6

Does Robart or any other retract company make literally a "plug and play" aftermarket retract that is strong and looks good? I'm looking for a no mess, perfect size aftermarket retract for the H-9 P-51.
    The only retracts that are almost "plug and play" are the mechanical ones from [link]http://www.franktiano.com/scaleproducts/retractmain.htm[/link]

Pneumatic retracts are more stout, but all of them would require some trimming to the retract mounts. However, trimming the retract mounts is painless and brainless with the help of a Dremel.

Watch the H9 Mustang landing videos on my site to see those functional Robart oleo struts in action.