RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CMP 160 sized Texan

Reply
Old 01-13-2008, 08:35 PM
  #426
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I've received my VMT-1 AT-6 from Nitroplanes. It came with some damage but Nitroplanes immediately shipped out some replacement parts to me and they should be here Wednesday. If you're looking to buy one of these CMP AT-6's I'd recommend Nitroplanes. They stand by what they sell.
I see why the Marines version is a little cheaper than the other two. Ironically, it's also the most accurate to the full scale plane. It comes painted but none of the decals are pre-applied.
I finally found another good picture of the full scale plane on an aircraft photo database in England. I then saw a website link painted on the plane, went to it and found where the full scale plane is based (in Australia) and a couple more good photos. I've emailed the company that owns it and asked if they have any more photos.
For you guys with the silver Scream N Rebel plane, I have a good illustration from a Squadron/Signal Pub. book. If you would like a bigger better copy of it, just PM me and I'll email it to you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20725.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	850514   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je11302.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	850515   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sy63486.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	850516   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lf94275.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	850517  
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 12:09 PM
  #427
darjen38
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Romney, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Sorry to bother you, any chance you could show some picture on how you connected the flaps to the servo? Nice job excelent pictures
darjen38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 02:13 PM
  #428
AlphaWhisky
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hi mystar46,

Can you advise where in Australia that aircraft is based. I`m going over there in a while and wouldn`t mind tracking it down for some photos if I was in the vicinity.

Thanks,

Alan W
AlphaWhisky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 02:19 PM
  #429
jcflysrc
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

When I added my flaps, I put an control horn on the middle flap. The Servo is mounted on the top of the center wing section. The pushrod is also only visible on the top side...the horn sticks up through the wing. Hope that makes sense. The weather is really nice here, and since I have not flown mine yet, I'm heading out to the field right now. I will give my impressions of the first flight here later on tonight. Wish me luck!
jcflysrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 03:48 PM
  #430
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Quote:
Hi mystar46,

Can you advise where in Australia that aircraft is based. I`m going over there in a while and wouldn`t mind tracking it down for some photos if I was in the vicinity.

Thanks,

Alan W

Hi Alan,

The website that I got off the plane was http://www.shortstop.com.au and the address that they have listed on the web site is:

Shortstop Jet Charter
Hangar 5, Wirraway Road,
Essendon Airport
VIC, Australia 3041

I guess that's why the plane is named "Miss Victoria".

It looks like they'll take you on a training mission in it for $795.

If you do get there and take pictures, I'd love to have a set. Thanks!
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 03:51 PM
  #431
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I've found another plane in the US with the same registration numbers. The US plane is an SNJ-6 and the AU plane is an SNJ-5B. Their markings are slightly different. One must be a copy of the other.
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 10:36 PM
  #432
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Question for anyone using the G26. Are you using the stock muffler or did you get an aftermarket muffler?
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 05:09 AM
  #433
jcflysrc
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I'm using the stock muffler. My maiden went smooth too. Plane is a great flyer. Little aileron trim was needed, and the G26 pulls it along nicely at half throttle. landing was uneventful, but takeoff did require staying on the rudder. I am pleased with the way this plane flew.
jcflysrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:18 AM
  #434
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Congrats jcflysrc!

Did you use flaps at all?
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 01:35 PM
  #435
ScaleRCpilot
 
ScaleRCpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

jcflysrc,

Glad it went well sounds like its a good flyer. Congads and may you have many great flights with it.
SR/CP
ScaleRCpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 02:39 PM
  #436
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All,

Just got back from the AMA convention. Had a great time. Concerning the wing tube, I sanded the tube with 60 grit paper then applied a thin coat of 30 min. epoxy over it. This morning I slide it in to the center section, with no sanding, and it fit very well. There is no play in the tube now. Does anyone think there could be the potential for the epoxy to crack off of the tube? Maybe I should try fiberglass 3/4 oz cloth rapped around the wing tube. Any thoughts?
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 03:35 PM
  #437
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon...I think you will be fine with 30 minute epoxy applied, that stuff sticks well and is strong...I was thinking of suggesting that fix to all who have a loose fitting wing tubes...If the fit is ok leave it...there is no movement of that tube other than removing it when taking the wing apart...and thats not enough to wear or loosen the epoxy...
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 05:21 PM
  #438
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I have sanded the epoxy with 60 grit now, and reapplied another coat to smooth out the high and low spots. When the epoxy was just a little tacky I rolled the wing tube on the counter to smooth it out a little more. Seems to work pretty well.
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:10 PM
  #439
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

The application of epoxy on the wing tube and then sanding it to fit the center section worked great. Now time to epoxy the other end of the tube into the wing section. Engine is installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61231.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	853874   Click image for larger version

Name:	Aw70251.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	853875   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va71694.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	853876  
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 10:36 PM
  #440
ScaleRCpilot
 
ScaleRCpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon L.

You gonna use that radial dummy engine or keep it clear?
SR/CP
ScaleRCpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 10:52 PM
  #441
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Not much detail on it. I got this one from a friend, so I still have the cmp one if anyone needs it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94405.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	855535  
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:29 PM
  #442
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All,

For those of you that are building a three peice wing, I have carbon fiber tube that will fit over the steel pins supplied in the kit. I installed the pins in the outer wings, then placed (but not glued) the fiber tubes in the wing center section. I left the fiber tubes sticking out about an 1/8 inch, slide the outer wing up to the protruding fiber tubes, so the pins are inside the fiber tubes and everything is aligned. Then, with a CA applicator, glued the fiber tubes into the center section and removed the outer wing. It worked really well for me. If anyone would like some peices of carbon fiber tube, let me know, I will stick it in an envelope and mail it to you. No charge, of course.
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:05 PM
  #443
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All,

Done with half of the wing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16124.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	858534   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rn39297.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	858535   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57566.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	858536  
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 03:35 AM
  #444
Lars N
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ryon L.

Hello All,

Done with half of the wing.
Is it just one bolt thats holding the wingparts togheter?
Lars N is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 11:29 AM
  #445
Ryon L.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Yes, one #6 with a blind nut in the wing. I am wondering if I should insert a wood dowel into the wing tube, for extra support, for those unexpected high G maneuvers. The supplied wing tube seems a little flimsy.
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 02:57 PM
  #446
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon..I did, it just added securety that the tube won't collapse and fail...I found a hardwood dowel that fit into the tube ,it was slightly thinner than the tube so I used Gorilla glue which expands as it hardens and it closed the gap and strengthend the tube...30+ flights so far and no hint of failure....
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 08:08 PM
  #447
patzane
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I have a buddy who just got this plane. What is the correct CG and did anyone have to add any weight to the nose.
patzane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 08:28 PM
  #448
gridgod
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: glendale, AZ
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

i have the cmp texan i am trying out a new gas motor its a crrc 26 pro the reviews seem to be good but with the motor the batteries and e i up front im still tail heavy did any of you have that problem and how did you resolve it also how does a twenty or 25 gasser fly it
gridgod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 09:31 PM
  #449
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I've been in email contact with the pilot / owner of the "Miss Victoria" AT-6 that mine is modelled after. He and the plane are in Melbourne Australia. He's really excited that I'm building a model of his plane and he's sent me about 30 pictures so far. I sent him some pictures of my progress. The history of his airplane is fascinating. He bought it from a guy in California who used it for air racing. He restored it to the Marines VMT-1 scheme and flies at airshows and events and does a warbird training ride from a local airport.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xu62848.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	860200   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av68931.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	860201  
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 12:10 AM
  #450
patzane
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Gary the CRRC 26 motor weights 11.6 oz less than the G26. I believe lots of guys are using retract and also helps. I don't think there is other way around adding nose weight if you already have everthing far front. but I would like to see what other also has to say.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: gridgod

i have the cmp texan i am trying out a new gas motor its a crrc 26 pro the reviews seem to be good but with the motor the batteries and e i up front im still tail heavy did any of you have that problem and how did you resolve it also how does a twenty or 25 gasser fly it
patzane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:42 AM.