RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CMP 160 sized Texan

Reply

Old 01-25-2008, 01:52 AM
  #451  
ScaleRCpilot
My Feedback: (1)
 
ScaleRCpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Patzane and gridgod,

you might try increasing the size of the rx pack and move it as far forward the CG as possible.

Also if you are using a push rod for the rudd you might switch to a pull- pull wire system.

If you have to add wieght try adding a wieghted prop nut such as a Higgly Heavy hub.

If you are using one of the new electonic ignition gas motors you could increase the battery there too.

Also look at the wheels- can you use a lighter or heavier- but still scale looking wheel (like a plastic from Robart). Don't forget the tail wheel too!

I hope these ideas help and good luck!
SR/CP
ScaleRCpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 03:20 AM
  #452  
jcflysrc
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

G26 on mine and it required 8oz. of additional weight in the nose. I have Sierra retracts also. It is perfectly powered with a G26.
jcflysrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 03:44 AM
  #453  
AlphaWhisky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Mine has G-26 - not e.i. - and Eurokit retracts and required 10oz weight up front. What prop are you using on the G-26?

Alan W
AlphaWhisky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 03:53 PM
  #454  
jcflysrc
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I'm using an Mejzlik 18x6.
jcflysrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 06:39 PM
  #455  
gridgod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: glendale, AZ
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

when i balance my texan should i do it inverted or up rite
gridgod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:24 AM
  #456  
ScaleRCpilot
My Feedback: (1)
 
ScaleRCpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Inverted
SR/CP
ScaleRCpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 05:58 AM
  #457  
waldo
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dublin, IRELAND
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

My Texan has flown at last. G26 is absolutely fantastic in this model. Weight 16lbs, no flaps, balanced without additional weight with battery well forward. Robart 620 gear and Dubro 4.5 wheels. Stalled it at altitude with idle power, left wing eventually dropped but nose was quiet high so not scary at all. Landing was no problem. This thread has been a great help particularly with the suggestions on the mods for the Robart gear. Thanks to all.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49999.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	880043   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uq49569.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	880044  
waldo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 11:45 AM
  #458  
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

WALDO plane looks great.....congrats on the maiden flight....I like the way the robart gear look on yours they are much more scale looking than the Euro Kit ones and probably less maintenance prone than mine....I am almost ready to tear the Euro kit ones out and install the robart gear.....
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 02:21 PM
  #459  
mystar46
Senior Member
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Well done waldo! Your plane really does look great. I just got my RAM landing lights today, so that should keep me busy for a while.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88888.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	880321   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez81759.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	880322   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv54433.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	880323   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mg98321.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	880324  
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:37 PM
  #460  
Ryon L.
My Feedback: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All, I am finally finished with my Texan! Spektrum radio, Robart 620s with gear doors and 4" wheels, operable RAM landing and nav. lights, split flaps (center section only), Bcma 40cc gas engine and a three peice wing. The joy of completion. PRICELESS. I would like to thank everyone for their great ideas and knowledge on this thread, it makes the building experience that much more enjoyable.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40629.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	880592   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qm35759.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	880593   Click image for larger version

Name:	Af90616.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	880594   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ke91217.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	880595  
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 11:31 PM
  #461  
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon...great pics......you will be glad you went with the 3 piece wing great for transport...your robart gear look very scale....have fun with it, its a great flyer..
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:34 PM
  #462  
ScaleRCpilot
My Feedback: (1)
 
ScaleRCpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Waldo,
Congrads on a job well done! She looks real nice!

To RyonL: Lights look spectacular! Look forward to hearing of your successful flight as well!

As for me all projects are on hold pending completion of my new 12'x14' Shop.
SR/CP
ScaleRCpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 08:59 PM
  #463  
Ryon L.
My Feedback: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All, I flew the Texan today! Also pics of the "crew". Total weight dry is 18 lbs 13.6 oz..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74716.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	85.6 KB
ID:	885200   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id96007.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	885201  
Ryon L. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 10:58 PM
  #464  
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

CONGRATS.....RYON.........this plane will give you many years of pleasure I lost count on how many flights on mine....I have flown this plane every week for the last year...with only minor maintenance...
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 11:10 PM
  #465  
loukos
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

RYON, Congrats on the maiden, thants a gorgeous plane!!

I have followed your mods to install the robarts, Im now having problems with the gear doors...How and at which point did you connect the robostrut to the gear door? Your expertise would be highly appreciated!

Loukis
loukos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 08:02 PM
  #466  
mystar46
Senior Member
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon,

Did you take any video?
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:27 AM
  #467  
Sturtz
My Feedback: (20)
 
Sturtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 1,536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Ryon,,,, looks great !!! Love the landing lights and red tipped silver prop.[sm=thumbs_up.gif]
Sturtz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 05:21 PM
  #468  
Lars N
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Does anyone have pictrue from inside of the cowling when its finished?
Lars N is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 11:25 PM
  #469  
hellyeh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lloydminster, AB, CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Nice job on the Texan Ryon . [sm=thumbs_up.gif] Anyone know of any videos of this model ? I'm thinking of picking one up myself .
hellyeh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 09:22 PM
  #470  
mystar46
Senior Member
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I've been working steadily on mine. I have a Zenoah G26ei in it.
I'll be ordering the Sierra retracts soon.
I have Ram landing lights, Sullivan smoke system, flaps mod from this thread (taken a few steps further) and I recovered the built-up surfaces with aluminum Monokote.
I had a 1/7 scale P&W radial dummy engine for my TopFlite Corsair. I decided to try it out on the T-6 and it looked pretty good so I used it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd93225.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	925562  
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 09:02 PM
  #471  
trevtt600
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

What servos do you guys recommend for this airplane? Just ordered one... Thanks.
trevtt600 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 09:24 PM
  #472  
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

trev... I have been flying mine for the last year in fact I am charging for tomorrow....I used standard heavy duty Futaba servoes and have had no problem... I believe 90 inch ounce servoes are plenty..
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 03:40 PM
  #473  
ramduster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
ramduster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PELZER, SC
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Guys I am thinking about this cmp texan and would be using an evolution 26cc gas engine on it so what do you guys think.
ramduster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 07:18 PM
  #474  
Meschmidt
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 906
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Yea, how much nose weight has to be added with 26cc power? Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 06:48 AM
  #475  
ramduster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
ramduster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PELZER, SC
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I went a head an ordered the AT-6 last night from AK- models the price was good so I went for it. I may not put in retracts in it for some time because I will be getting some other things for the plane. So are any of you using the stock gear and how is it holding up.
ramduster is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy