RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CMP 160 sized Texan

Reply
Old 10-30-2009, 06:39 PM
  #701
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Mallen, as you can see, I'm running a Poulan 42, which is a 4.25 lb engine and both batteries are on the firewall. You have a choice. More engine or more dead weight! Go with the 40 - 50 cc. As long as the prop is balanced well and the engine is tuned right to run smooth, it will handle the bigger engine just fine! Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 03:52 PM
  #702
mallen
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Blairsville, PA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Thanks Paul and yes, you are right...if weight needs to be added, I guess it may as well be as much engine as possible. So now I guess I need to decide on which one....RCG, Turnigy, TGY52, XYZ, or DLE....???? Does anybody have an opinion on any of these?
Thanks!
mallen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:49 PM
  #703
Lagonga
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Delta, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

i WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THE CMP AT 6 REQUIRES A 2CYCLE 160 ENGINE. IT ONLY WEIGHS 12 POUNDS.
I HAVE A TOPFLITE T 34 MENTOR AND IT SCALE LIKE WITH A SAIT 91 AND IT WEIGHS 12 AS WELL
JUST ASKING.
CARL ANDERSON
Lagonga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 05:33 PM
  #704
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

CMP seems to underestimate the weight of all their planes. It might be possible 12 lbs without balancing and no retracts. Mine is at 16 lbs. 12 oz.
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:01 PM
  #705
speedpro 1
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: hendersonville, TN
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

mine has the zenoah g261- ign mounted above engine - batteries behind firewall - no dead weight added - just under 16 lb. - huge loops from level flight
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96722.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	1308142  
speedpro 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 09:13 PM
  #706
droman
 
droman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello All,

Today was my attempt to make the maiden but troubles with my Zenoah 26cc ei prevent me the flight. After many adjustments and reading the manual and nothing function we realize that the person who assembles the airplane used to big hoses so air was filtering to the engine from the tank gas valve causing the motor to stop. This week I will try to replace the hose and see if I can made the maiden next weekend.
Post some photos of my AT-6.
Regards
Dax
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53590.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	132.5 KB
ID:	1318921   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ea84517.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	1318922   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu52573.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	169.7 KB
ID:	1318923   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mg98869.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	165.2 KB
ID:	1318924   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yk66456.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	1318925  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Wn86359.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	1318926   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tv40434.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	162.2 KB
ID:	1318927  
droman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:23 PM
  #707
droman
 
droman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

GLITCH PROBLEM!!!

Hello, I am having a very big problem of glitch in my AT-6, so I can’t flight with that problem. Let’s see if I can find the cause. Any advice!

Dax
droman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 11:03 AM
  #708
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I had a glitch too, and found a servo for elevator would twitch when engine running at a certain speed. It wouldn't do it otherwise. Took a while to find it but I replaced servo and it solved it. It was a new servo too. New doesn't guarantee it's good. Start a new thread like "AT6 glitch problem" and see what others say. Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 11:51 AM
  #709
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

droman,

Check to make sure you don't have your on board battery pack and the ignition pack to close together. You want no metal to metal contact especially on the throttle linkage. If you suspect it may be a bad servo you can unplug one at a time and check for glitches each time you unplug one. Make sure your plug cap it pushed all the way onto the plug. If one of these doesn't cure the glitches Then you can try and buypass the switches one at a time.
Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 09:31 AM
  #710
droman
 
droman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Thanks, I will check all that.

Dax
droman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:54 PM
  #711
droman
 
droman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hello all,

Finally today, December 24 2009, was my maiden flight, that bird fly very well, as a train in his rails. The glitch was solved moving the EI to the front over the engine, then the glitch continue and I separate EI battery from the servos and receiver battery, I change the radio also for one Airtronic R8000 2.4GH Spectrum, after that the glitch disappear.

The takeoff was very smooth and only a litter trim was required, after that the airplane was very stable, the landing was not that smooth, in the first attempt some rebounds caused that the pilot abort the landing and in the second attempt were some others rebounds but the plane landed successfully.

We only could made one flight; our wives were waiting for help for the Christmas dinner, so a hope to flight again soon.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL OF YOU.

Dax
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56898.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	1341288  
droman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 01:56 PM
  #712
mal75
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edwards, CA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Congrats on the successful maiden. I hope to maiden mine this weekend.
mal75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 08:13 PM
  #713
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

One thing I found to make this plane land with minimal bounce is to trim it to hands off flight with throttle at idle. It will land on it's own usually. Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:30 AM
  #714
patzane
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I no longer have my AT-6 and I am looking to sell the Sierra Giant Retracts I purchase for this plane. The retracts are not new as it had a couple on flight on the plane before i retire it. The retacts are in perfect shape and condtion. I will post pic later once I find my camera. If anyone is interested PM me. Willing to sale at a good price
patzane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 02:04 AM
  #715
N827TM
 
N827TM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Patzane,

I sent you a PM.

Tom
N827TM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 02:14 AM
  #716
patzane
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

got it Tom I just sent you a reply
patzane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 02:59 AM
  #717
Red Baron Mike
 
Red Baron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I am considering this Texan also, but I have read about very marginal quality, especially at the wing center section, which cause in-flight wing failure. However, none of you in this thread seem to mention any quality problems.
Some have even purchased more than one. Have any of you experienced negative issues with this plane and are any of you reinforcing the plane or just flying it as it arrives from the dealer?

Thanks,
Mike
Red Baron Mike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:27 AM
  #718
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

REDBARON.. (.no structural problems ) after approx 250 flights... I have had this plane for 3 years and fly it often ........fairly decent price for the kit also..
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:02 PM
  #719
mallen
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Blairsville, PA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I just got one a few months ago and I haven't built nor flew it yet but the center wing section seems very strong. And from what I can see, they used all light and heavy plywood for formers and spars....and a lot of epoxy. Over all, I'd say the quality of the plane is very good especially when you consider the price. I think the canopy could be a little better. Mine has a few flaws and I'm going to try and order a replacement. Mark
mallen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:52 AM
  #720
cwhipple
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belle Center, OH
Posts: 110
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Just bought mine online for about 260 shipped on Red and Yellow scheme. Thinking about a Fuji 24EI. Sound like a good fit?
cwhipple is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 08:02 AM
  #721
droman
 
droman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Test
droman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:29 AM
  #722
rcmichael
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: greeley, CO
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Has anyone out there flown a similar AT-6 with a Moki 2.10? I have one that turns a 20x10 bolly at7800 rpm. Seems like a match for flying at my field in Colorado at about 5000 ft elevation. Mike
rcmichael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:31 PM
  #723
ATVAlliance
 
ATVAlliance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , WV
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I too an thinking of buying one of these Texans.

Seems like the most popular engine is the G26, but I hate to put that much coin into my first "bigger" plane.

Been looking at some of the chinese engines that seem to have decent to good reviews @ HK. But cant find much in the way of how they compare to the G26.

Ones I am looking at are the following...

FTL 26 or the FTL45 (found here http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s...=2&v=&sortlist= )

TGY 52 http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s....2kw+_Overbore

TGG 30 http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s..._(BlackEdition)

XYZ 26 http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s..._V2_Gas_engine

I saw a few other engines that I thought was affordable...only had a rear mounted carb soI didnt think it would be a good fit for this plane.

If anyone has any recommendations for a good motor under 200 dollars US...I would appreciate the input.

Thanks

ATVAlliance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:01 PM
  #724
mystar46
 
mystar46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

IMHO, if this is your first bigger model, that's all the more reason to spend a few bucks and get a good reliable motor. I understand where you're coming from though. The G26ie is quite a bit more than the cost of the plane kit.
mystar46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:45 PM
  #725
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

All the above engines will fly this plane nicely, but consider the shaft to mount length to fit in that short cowl. That and the added nose weight needed to balance the plane. The shorter and heavier, the better. If I had to do it again, a Quadra 40-52 with a magneto, spring starter, and 1/2" prop hub is my ideal combo for this plane.
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:14 AM.