RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CMP 160 sized Texan

Reply
Old 04-14-2010, 08:31 AM
  #726
ATVAlliance
 
ATVAlliance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , WV
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I do appreciate all of the input to my question thus far...and anyone else that would like to offer advice, its much appreciated.

The reason I was interested in this plane to start is the pricepoint of the ARF.  That is why I find it hard to invest in an engine that is nearly 1/3 more the cost of the airframe alone.  And that isnt the only reason as I had read another post on this plane that a few claimed that the center wing section was of poor design and could cause a crash...so i dont want a 350 dollar enging lawn darting into the ground (but that is another topic altogether /weak center wing).

While I was skeptical of the engines listed above because of their price, after reading the reviews it seems more people are satisfied with them than not.

I am just now getting back into flying RC after about a 10 or so year absense.  And to be honest IF I buy the Texan...I wont be ready to fly it till next summer.  But thought it would be a good winter project and I could start buying things like the engine and retracts along the way this summer and hopefully have everything collected for the build this winter.

Im not a mechanic by trade (actually Im a Network Systems Admin)...but I have grown up riding motorcycles and ATVs and tinkering with all sorts of small and large engines my entire life.  So "fiddling" with an engine to get it "just right" isnt too much of concern to me.  I just want to make sure that I at least end up with an engine, even though it may be hard to tune and/or break in...that will run and not shake the plane apart because of improperly made crankshafts or propshafts.

So saying all of that...I would still like to keep the cost of the engine down around the 150 to 200 US dollar range.

I might also add that it may be better to ask what is the optimum weight and length of an engine for this plane?

Again, any and all input is appreciated.
ATVAlliance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 02:04 PM
  #727
RAMFlyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 892
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I have bought three Zenoah G23's and three Zenoah G26's over the past two years and have not paid more than $200.00 for any of them. The average price of the G23's was $140.00 and the average price of the G26's was 190.00. You just have to watch RCUniverse and the other RC site for deals. All except two were NIB... If you shop around and are not in a hurry you can stay within your budget and still get a good engine. The most I had to do on any of them was clean the carburator. The main advantage of the 26's is about 800 rpms over the older 23's but both run forever and just get better with age.
RAMFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 06:46 AM
  #728
Lars N
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hi folks

I had mye virgin flight yesterday and it didnt go wery well, Not wery much damage but need to fix the retracts and a new cowling. I think that mye plane is heavy in the back. Were do you have your CG with empty tank= And from where to you measure it from?
Lars N is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:31 PM
  #729
speedpro 1
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: hendersonville, TN
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

see post 614 for cg amendment and is measured at fuse
speedpro 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 11:36 PM
  #730
bicyclemonkey
 
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Anyone setup one of these with E-power yet? Mine just got delivered today.
bicyclemonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 10:41 AM
  #731
N827TM
 
N827TM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I am working on mine to be be E-Powered. I have the Sierra Giant Retracts installed. I don't think I will have mine flying until Dec. or Jan. though.

Tom
N827TM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:53 AM
  #732
bicyclemonkey
 
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I'm planning on the Sierra's also. Do you know what motor/prop/batteries you're going with?
bicyclemonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 01:09 PM
  #733
N827TM
 
N827TM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Yes,

I am running a cheap setup.

Right Now I will be using the Turnigy 63-64 280KV.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=2097

I was going to run 6s 5000mah with a 20X15 prop, but I think I will need more nose weight. So I am going to run an 8s setup and am not sure what prop I will use. Here is a link to a setup my brother and I did in his CMP 76" Corsair.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=920368

Tom
N827TM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:09 PM
  #734
bicyclemonkey
 
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Quote:
ORIGINAL: N827TM

Yes,

I am running a cheap setup.

Right Now I will be using the Turnigy 63-64 280KV.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=2097

I was going to run 6s 5000mah with a 20X15 prop, but I think I will need more nose weight. So I am going to run an 8s setup and am not sure what prop I will use. Here is a link to a setup my brother and I did in his CMP 76" Corsair.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=920368

Tom
I like cheap. I was thinking about that motor also.

Are you going to use a mount like this?

www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp

bicyclemonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:03 PM
  #735
N827TM
 
N827TM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I might use that mount. It would be easy to install. I have not got that far.

Tom
N827TM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:49 PM
  #736
golfandfly
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sullivan, IL
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I need a wing for my Texan. does anyone have one,or know where to buy one?
golfandfly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:32 AM
  #737
mallen
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Blairsville, PA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I have a New CMP 160 Texan for sale. I bought this 2 years ago and never got around to building it. I'm moving and need to clean out along with some extra money. It's the red/silver/yellow version. $220 shipped in the US only. Thanks! Mark
mallen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 10:36 AM
  #738
akroblade954
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tonbridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

HI

Hopefully a simple question!! I just bought the Texan as airframe and servos. Going to put my Zenoah G26 (magneto) in it, but wondering what prop size works best??? Any advice would be appreciated.

thanks
akroblade954 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 12:32 PM
  #739
p51tom
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I need a new canopy for my CMP AT-6. Does anyone know who carries them. My aircraft uses a 18-8 Zinger on a RCGF 26. The model flys fast and can complete large loops at 18 pounds. I fly a little above 1/2 throttle for most of the flight. I am thinking of trying an 18-6 to slow it while landing. Has anyone run this engine with an 18-6?
Thanks P51Tom
p51tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 11:02 AM
  #740
bfd04
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bloomingdale, NJ
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

You might want to try AK-Models, that is where I purchased my replacement. If you dont see it on the webpage email them, as they may have some not listed, believe I paid $11.00 for mine. Nitro planes is another choice, but I personally have had issues with them in the past, just very bad communication.
Hope this helps
bfd04 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 02:53 PM
  #741
bicyclemonkey
 
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Do you guys think this servo from Hobby King will be sufficient for this plane? I'll be powering it with a G23.

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...idproduct=3743


bicyclemonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 03:02 PM
  #742
vallawyer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: , CT
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

I have had one of these sitting in the box for years. 
I don't want to read teh whole thread, but can you tell me will a G26 fly it?  The plane seems haevy.  What mods are needed for the wings?
vallawyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:50 PM
  #743
RCPILOT78
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new port richey, FL
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

P51tom...yes go to AK models for parts I ordered a new canopy from them and they delivered in 3 days....
RCPILOT78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:15 PM
  #744
mal75
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edwards, CA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan


Quote:
ORIGINAL: vallawyer

I have had one of these sitting in the box for years.
I don't want to read teh whole thread, but can you tell me will a G26 fly it? The plane seems haevy. What mods are needed for the wings?
A G26 will fly it just fine. I fly mine with a CRRC Pro GF26 and it flys pretty good. As for as mods to the wings, I built it stock and I haven't had any problems.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92427.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	1566196  
mal75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 06:11 AM
  #745
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

mal75, how much additional nose weight did it take to balance with the 26cc engine? Paul
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 07:39 AM
  #746
speedpro 1
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: hendersonville, TN
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

i have a zenoah 26i apc 17x6 prop no weight added flys perfect for years
speedpro 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:19 AM
  #747
mal75
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edwards, CA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Meschmidt

mal75, how much additional nose weight did it take to balance with the 26cc engine? Paul
I had to add about 13 oz of lead.
mal75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:41 AM
  #748
akroblade954
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tonbridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Zero additional weight with my G26 magneto. I have some heavy old retracts though (not sure what make). Model weighs in at a hefty 17.5 lbs [&o]
akroblade954 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:13 AM
  #749
Belgenland
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: blaton, BELGIUM
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Hi,

Does it exist any scale cockpit that fit the Cmpro At6?

Thanks

Phil
Belgenland is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:25 AM
  #750
Meschmidt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP 160 sized Texan

Due to lack of space beneath cockpit, I don't see how it can be done without major modificationns to the servo tray location. I used a couple of nitromodels pilots and made some railings with pushrod tubing. Looks good in the air, anyway.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71039.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	1681625   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99119.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	86.2 KB
ID:	1681626   Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53678.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	1681627  
Meschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:57 AM.