Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

How much toe-in?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2003, 06:27 AM
Juice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much toe-in?

I'm installing my Robart 615's into my TF Corsair. I've been searching and reading previous threads saying that toe-out is bad, toe-in is good, and straight also seems to be good.

How much toe-in is good? Some threads say "slightly toe in". But I'm an engineer, and us engineers get confused with qualitative descriptions. We like quantitative descriptions. How many degrees is "slightly"?

Thanks,
Juice
Old 01-17-2003, 06:56 AM
Richard L.
My Feedback: (24)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How much toe-in?

I like to have around 1° of toe-in for improved ground handling and tracking. I always try not to go above 2° of toe-in. Your plane will tend to wander without any toe-in, just like a real car on the road would.
Old 01-17-2003, 04:21 PM
GlennisAircraft
My Feedback: (1)

Default Toe

We recommend 1 degree or 2 of Toe In. Straight works fine - but slop in the gear quickly changes it to Toe Out, then you can have problems.

More Toe In (or Out) leads to excessive tire wear - not so much on the warbirds, but if you ever look at the 'jets', you'll notice a lot of them with the top of the tires worn at about a 20 degree angle -

Dennis
Old 01-17-2003, 11:58 PM
paladin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default How much toe-in?

When I set up a plane I rubber band a yard stick to each wheel. Then push on the tips of the yard sticks to take up all the slop then measure accross front and back of the yard sticks. I want the front measurement (Engine side of the yard stick) to be smaller than the back. The only other thing to check is that they are not both turned to the same side by eye ball.

Good Luck!
Old 01-30-2003, 05:39 PM
Dig it

Default How much toe-in?