RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Reply
Old 02-02-2011, 10:16 PM
  #76
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

IM AT 112 MM I NEED TO MOVE TO 125. BUT IT STILL WILL BE A TIGHT FIT. WHERE THE THROTTLE IS AND THE SERVO IS LOCATED I WOULD HAVE TO BEND THE WIRE SEVERAL TIMES. AND IT NEEDS TO EXIT WHERE THE BOLT HOLE IS.IF I ROUTE IT AROUND THE MOUNT ITS SEEMS IMPOSSIBE TO LINE IT UP NEVERMIND ALL THE BENDING ON THE ROD THRU TWO PLATES OF BALSA.Maybe using a flex cable would be better but still theres a lot of bending to do
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ur52465.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	1557758  
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:24 AM
  #77
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

has anyone had a problem running the throttle line that came with kit.has anyone installed this engine.My problem is carb location.most are front carbs..I seen one OS rear carb but it set up higher.Mine is directly in front on mount where it looks impossiabe to got a ez link and also running the cable from carb to servo it put a bind on it.
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 10:27 PM
  #78
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Shep,
Surely there must be an easy way, could you post some clearer pictures of engine position and throttle servo and then I;ll be able to post suggestions
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:39 PM
  #79
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

.landing gear came today. going to have to build a plate to mount them. .hears more pics of engine mount.ive try using the rod that came with it and the double plastic one and they bind.I even ran it thru the mount hole taking one of the bolts out.even switch the throttle servo and the tank mount there too and not even in and it bind.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ca80473.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	1558464   Click image for larger version

Name:	xv64258.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	2.26 MB
ID:	1558465   Click image for larger version

Name:	bz78231.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	2.23 MB
ID:	1558466   Click image for larger version

Name:	qo39768.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	2.11 MB
ID:	1558467   Click image for larger version

Name:	ge94440.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	2.09 MB
ID:	1558468  
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:42 PM
  #80
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

inside fuse.ive tryed putting on a fastener .and just the rod that came with it but since the tank is out works ok but when it has to be pushed to the side it binds.move left and right but binds
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12118.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	1558469  
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:36 AM
  #81
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Shep, here's what I suggest

- First the throttle horn needs to be 180 degrees opposite to where it is now so its clear of the engine mount. There is a grub screw on the ring around the horn, loosen it, pull it off and reposition it

- Then your problem will be that the throttle is close to the firewall, and as the throttle barrel moves in and out of the carb when it rotates it causes the rod to bind in its tube.

The solution to that is to allow some degree of freedom to the tube-rod. The way I do it is that I open a longer hole in the firewall (meaning it is 2-diameters on the axis the throttle barrel moves). Now the rod should not bind, but there is a gap around the tube through the firewall. I seal this gap with silicon glue which has enough elasticity to allow some movement to the tube-rod as the throttle opens and closes

- I also suggest attaching an EZ-link to the htrottle horn, then the whole rod-tube will move away from the firewall center and make alignment easier

Does all this make sense?
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:39 AM
  #82
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

.
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:40 AM
  #83
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

double post
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:44 AM
  #84
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

.
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 11:27 AM
  #85
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Yes i understand that.never thought of that.i will give it a try.good thinking.thanks for your time working with me on this.Ill let you know how it comes out.
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 12:23 PM
  #86
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

I seem to have nothing but problem when i have to add something to this plane.I got a master airscrew prop 12x8 today and it doesnt fit engine shaft.It goes in a little ways.CAN THIS BE DRILLED WITHOUT MESSING THE BALANCE UP.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bz79441.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	2.19 MB
ID:	1558956  
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:27 PM
  #87
ZERO-322
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Elmwood Park , IL
Posts: 1,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Get yourself a prop reamer it can be purchased from your local hobby store, and no it will not mess with the balance as long as you use a reamer it will keep the hole uniform so no worries
ZERO-322 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:08 PM
  #88
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

- First the throttle horn needs to be 180 degrees opposite to where it is now so its clear of the engine mount. There is a grub screw on the ring around the horn, loosen it, pull it off and reposition it










when i reverse the throttle it puts it opposite on giving it gas.what use to be off is now off but the movement changes.i think i explained it right
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:38 PM
  #89
ZERO-322
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Elmwood Park , IL
Posts: 1,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

?
ZERO-322 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 07:02 PM
  #90
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

as it is originally in the off position when i rotate it 180 the horn is in the off position but now the the barrel only moves one way which is down. it basically make it where off is on and on is off because the barrle move only one way.
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:45 PM
  #91
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

I'm glad to help you, don't be shy to ask any question

For the throttle you need to reverse the servo movement, there should be a reverse option for channel 3 on your transmitter
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 11:33 PM
  #92
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

i wondered about that.was trying to run the working in my head if it would work
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:20 PM
  #93
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

Thank W1ND6URFA and everyone.Im close to being done.W1ND6URFA thank engine throttle switching work great.
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:21 PM
  #94
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log



If you want your Corsair to really stand out at the field buy a silver felt tip pen and highlight the panel lines

[link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_8293573/mpage_2/key_/tm.htm#]Picture[/link]
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 03:50 PM
  #95
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

GOT IT TOGETHER HAVING PROBLEM STARTING ENGINE.NEW TANK , LINES,SEALED AIRTIGHT.FA-80 SATIO GOLDEN KNIGHT.FULL THROTTLR FINGER ON MUFFLER TURNED 5-6 TURN CONTERCLOCKWISE.I DONT SEE ANY FUEL COMMING TRU TUBE.IT STARTS TO BUT SITS IN LINE.ANY SUGGESTIONS
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:52 PM
  #96
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

It must be the fuel lines, can you explain your setup (2-line, 3-line) and connectivity
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:52 AM
  #97
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

1 RUNNING TO CARB 1 TO MUFFLER AND REFUEL LINE WHICH HAS LINE CAP ON IT TIGHT.ALL NEW LINES WITH NO LEAKS
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:54 AM
  #98
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

I'd double check all connections - especially carb line to make sure its the one with the fuel pickup
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:17 PM
  #99
SHEPSTER
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW CASTLE, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

3 lines 1 bend in tank at top to vent ,ran to muffler//1 bent downward to refuel//1 with filter goes to carb. tank sealed no holes in lines all ran correctly.i can suck the fuel line and it comes out but when i put line on carb and open throttle open and block muffler and rotate conter clockwise nothing
SHEPSTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:39 PM
  #100
w1nd6urfa
Thread Starter
 
w1nd6urfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: EllinikoAthens, GREECE
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CMP F4U Corsair 50 Build Log

It doesn't work like that, use an electric starter for 5 seconds with full throttle (no power on plug) that should prime the engine. Then 10% throttle, power plug and go

The Saito is a sound investment, it wont let you down
w1nd6urfa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:19 PM.