Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Saito 82 Vibration?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Saito 82 Vibration?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2009, 04:50 PM
Merlin Man

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Saito 82 Vibration?

Hi,

I have a friend who has a new Saito 82 in a BT MKII Spitfire. He has asked me to test fly it for him but I am concerned about the engine .

I have had no direct experience of this size Saito but it has significant vibration at peak RPM ( 9,800 ). The engine was purchased new and this is it's first time of operation.

We have balanced the prop and spinner and double checked the engine mount security. We have checked the tappet clearance ( just as a precaution ?willing to try anything ? )

This motor has had only 6 x 12 oz. tanks of fuel so far, and so it is not really run in.

The vibration is such that that it is difficult to touch/ hold the needle valve for tuning at full revs and yet the vibration does not seem to affect the performance ? I am concerned that , apart from possible engine damage, the vibrations will damage the airframe over time.

I am hoping that someone might be able to shed some light on this problem. This amount of vibration is surely not normal for one of these engines is it ? Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Merlin Man.
Old 01-28-2009, 06:39 PM
Warbird Man
My Feedback: (95)

Default RE: Saito 82 Vibration?

Have you tried some different props and or run it without the spinner? If that doesn't solve the problem, most likely you got a bent crank shaft. It shouldn't vibrate that bad as you are stating.
Old 01-29-2009, 07:16 AM
Johnnie Red

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Merlin man

Did you screw the engine directly on the mount or you use any shock absorbing material?