Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

New to warbirds..HELP

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

New to warbirds..HELP

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2010, 10:29 AM
motor12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to warbirds..HELP

I am a heli pilot and just attended my first war bird event and i am hooked. I fly all electric and want to stay with electric. What i am looking for is a WW II fighter with a WS of aprox 60 to 65 inches. A P40 or Spitfire or ME109 would be great.My question is what mfg. would you recommend. Also i am looking for ARF as my building skill are not ready for a scratch built. thanks, and don't tell my helli buds.
Old 04-25-2010, 12:18 PM
jddickers
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: New to warbirds..HELP

motor12, Welcome to the warbird form. Every thing you will need to know about Warbirds is here. For the money and looks it's hard to beat ESM warbirds. Tomas at VQ Warbirds is the place you want to buy from. His customer service is one of the best. Some one else will have to answer your question on electrics. There are a lot of ESM warbirds with electric motors flying out there. Any way welcome ane good luck.
JD
Old 04-25-2010, 01:00 PM
CorsairJock
My Feedback: (90)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The best flying warbirds/ most suitable for electric power in the size range you mention (60 ~ 65") is without a doubt the Hangar 9 warbirds. Hundreds, if not thousands of them have been converted to electric power. I have a Hangar 9 Corsair which I converted to electric power about 5 years ago, flew great then, and still does.
Tha Hangar 9 warbirds are built lighter than most others. They sacrifice a little in scale looks department (assuming you keep it 'stock') but make up for it with their flying qualities.

Here is YouTube video of mine:
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_i0cxQAuXXo[/youtube]
Old 04-25-2010, 01:02 PM
LDM