RCUniverse.com FAQ RCU''s most frequently asked questions.

flaparons

Reply

Old 09-15-2016, 07:44 AM
  #1  
deyoe
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Question flaparons

I have several planes that like to land fast. I fly from a very short field. I was thinking of utilizing flaparons to see if this might provide a larger flight envelope and slower but controllable landing speeds. Has anyone tried this and what success or not did you have?
deyoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 02:31 PM
  #2  
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I’ve had huge success converting all my tapered wing planes to flaperons. Control is perfect through the entire approach and final phases and touch downs are as good as it gets. It takes about 1/8 inch droop to get the results I want. Dan.


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	TBD.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	114.7 KB
ID:	2181221  
All Day Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 05:10 PM
  #3  
J330
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use flaperons when ever I have a 5 servo plane that allows me to program it into my radio. I can't find one application that I've flown that doesn't like it on landing and take off. From Telemasters to Scat Cat quickie 500 models I've owned. They all seem to respond to giving you more lift at lower speeds on approach. Some require just a little flaperon for good results, you don't go crazy with it. I liked it also on a P-51, and a Zen 50 pattern style ship.
J330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 05:46 PM
  #4  
deyoe
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

thanks for the info. All I need now is what plane I want to sacrifice as practice.
deyoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 06:10 PM
  #5  
J330
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sacrifice?
You mean upgrade with a useful feature!
J330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 07:05 PM
  #6  
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It's a harmless addition. Droop them a small amount at first and you can't lose. Use a switch that you can get at without moving your hand from the elevator/aileron stick. Dan.
All Day Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service