Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Tornado S30 top speed

Reply
Old 01-04-2011, 05:49 AM
  #1
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tornado S30 top speed

What is the top speed on a Tornado S30? Also what is the range with a 2.4 ghz remote?
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:53 AM
  #2
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

whats the TOP speed, or whats the top speed STOCK?
i know they can do 35MPH easy. tuned well faster than that. add some "go fast" goodies and it can go faster.

the remote will control the car till the point you can hardly see it. even tho the redcat 2.4 radio is the least expensive 2.4ghz on the market, its still much better than a FM or AM radio.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:55 AM
  #3
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Well stock do you think they can go around 60 MpH?
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 06:06 AM
  #4
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed


Quote:
ORIGINAL: SmgHunter

Well stock do you think they can go around 60 MpH?
nope. maybe 45mph tops.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:53 AM
  #5
rjsdad
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hutto, TX, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

For the sake of discussion...where could you go that would allow you to reach speeds up to 60 (if it was able to)?
rjsdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:59 AM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rjsdad

For the sake of discussion...where could you go that would allow you to reach speeds up to 60 (if it was able to)?
im sure you could gear it up some. sacrafice low-end acceleration and torque for top speed.
other than that im not sure. there might be other pipes which could increase performance, specifically at max RPMs. agian, sacraficing low-end for high end perfromance.
you might be able to run higher nitro fuel. im not an expert on nitro motors, or the tornados motor. but i do know that most nitro motors can be tuned to run on 30% nitro fuel. it will get higher performance, but be harder to tune and wear down the motor quicker.

the easiest way to get 60mph is to get a buggy designed to run that fast. but its gonna cost more than $200 for sure.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:25 PM
  #7
jgillum
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lewisburg, TN
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

LOL gonna need a nice stretch for a 60mph buggy, mine doing 45 by me seems unreal.

I cant imagine controling 60mph .....not at the moment anyways lol gimme 4 or 5 months .
jgillum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:44 PM
  #8
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jgillum

LOL gonna need a nice stretch for a 60mph buggy, mine doing 45 by me seems unreal.

I cant imagine controling 60mph .....not at the moment anyways lol gimme 4 or 5 months .
it does take some getting used to. i had a rustler vxl with a 3s lipo that would hit 55mph( i had it geared low for offroading) and at that speed a tiny input to the steering could cause a barrolroll really easy.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:15 PM
  #9
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

I was just wondering cause the dealer on ebay said 60+ MPh which I thought was redicuasly high of a speed. Lol
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:40 PM
  #10
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SmgHunter

I was just wondering cause the dealer on ebay said 60+ MPh which I thought was redicuasly high of a speed. Lol
some people will do anything to make a sale.
the tornado is a decent chassis with a good SH brand motor. but no way will it do 60mph. you need a buggy with a much bigger motor for that. and to get that kinda speed you have to spend a fair more $$$.

We dealers are not supposed to do that kinda stuff. the redcat website makes NO claims about the speed of the tornado S30. and as a dealer, we are only supposed to use the info redcat supplies to put in our ads.
you also have to be careful on ebay, because there are some people who are selling redcats below MAP(minimum advertised price) which redcats sets.
if they are selling below that price, then its very likely that you are not buying direct from redcat. this could cause an issue if you need to get something replaced that is under warrenty. this bugs me, but i know that there is no way for redcat to check every ebay and in order to put a stop to such false advertising claims and selling below MAP.
dealers are also supposed to use the Redcat racing name, and have a redcat racing banner pic in their ad.
When you buy from myself, or the other redcat dealers on RCU, the orders go right to redcat and are shipped right from the warehouse in AZ.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:53 PM
  #11
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

And what do you mean by go fast goodies?
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 02:11 PM
  #12
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SmgHunter

And what do you mean by go fast goodies?
well, there are more mods than anything else.
i think there are differnt sized spur gear and bell gear, to change the gearing.
there is a alum air filter that seems like it would provide more airflow.
there is a alum fuel filter. wont help the speed, but its a nice thing to have on any nitro to keep the performance up.
there are ways to mod a pipe that will change performance. its nothing i have done before, but i have read about it.
again, one could breakin the motor and tune it to run on higher nitro fuel. i dont suggest this, but someone who has experience with nitro motors could do it and it would be faster.

the aftershock and backdraft 3.5 from redcat does more like 50MPH.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:43 PM
  #13
buggyboy2010
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: listowel, ON, CANADA
Posts: 670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Mine was clocked in at 47mph, That's with tuned headers and aluminum pipe, stiff shocks, ported piston sleeve, A LOT of weight reduction, And on pavement, 60mph is them just trying to make a sale, I'm sure if I got into tuning the gearing I could reach 50mph but at 47mph it was getting really hard to control 
buggyboy2010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:14 PM
  #14
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed


Quote:
ORIGINAL: buggyboy2010

Mine was clocked in at 47mph, That's with tuned headers and aluminum pipe, stiff shocks, ported piston sleeve, A LOT of weight reduction, And on pavement, 60mph is them just trying to make a sale, I'm sure if I got into tuning the gearing I could reach 50mph but at 47mph it was getting really hard to control
so to say they do 35-40mph stock is correct right? how did you reduce weight?
the s30 version comes with a tuned alum pipe. did you fit a different one, or did you start with an older model than the s30?
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:25 PM
  #15
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Do you have any links for the gears and alloy air filter?
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 06:08 PM
  #16
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed


Quote:
ORIGINAL: SmgHunter

Do you have any links for the gears and alloy air filter?
here is a pic of the alloy air filter.
when i looked up the spur gear for the s30 on redcats website, it shows a 47t and a 42t. i dont own a nitro tornado, so im not sure which one is the stock spur. if the stock spur is 47, then putting the 42t will increase top speed.
www.urchobby.com is a good redcat dealer with a nice website to buy parts from. i dont have a website yet, i just sell though the forums and on ebay.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36856.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	1542523  
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:44 PM
  #17
SmgHunter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Alright thanks. One more thing, do you know where I could find the peice of plastic that is on top of the shock that connects to the top of the shock tower Because I flipped it in the street a couple of times so know the plastic is almost ground to nothing?
SmgHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:18 PM
  #18
buggyboy2010
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: listowel, ON, CANADA
Posts: 670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Yea, 35-40 is a good number for stock, I'm sure I could get mine to go 50 right now but having troubles with the 2speed tranny and a crap stock radio so yes I have the older model, weight reduction consited of custom aluminum rims which were each 22 grams lighter than stock plastics, custom rear wing, Did some shaving here and there on some plastic parts and aluminum chassi, Removed battery box and replaced with a custom setup. Have a couple more ideas but I'm affraid it will jepardize the structure and strength of the chassi and the buggy over all.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


Quote:
ORIGINAL: buggyboy2010

Mine was clocked in at 47mph, That's with tuned headers and aluminum pipe, stiff shocks, ported piston sleeve, A LOT of weight reduction, And on pavement, 60mph is them just trying to make a sale, I'm sure if I got into tuning the gearing I could reach 50mph but at 47mph it was getting really hard to control
so to say they do 35-40mph stock is correct right? how did you reduce weight?
the s30 version comes with a tuned alum pipe. did you fit a different one, or did you start with an older model than the s30?
buggyboy2010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:24 PM
  #19
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tornado S30 top speed

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SmgHunter

Alright thanks. One more thing, do you know where I could find the peice of plastic that is on top of the shock that connects to the top of the shock tower Because I flipped it in the street a couple of times so know the plastic is almost ground to nothing?
do you mean the plastic eyelit on the top of the shock that snaps onto the silver ball on the stock tower?
i dont think you can get those seperately. they are part of the shock cap.
there are alum shock caps sold for other trucks where the eyelit is also alum. but im not positive if they fit on the tornado's shock bodies.

i would suggest moving the silver ball piece to a lower hole on the shock tower. this will put the plastic eyelit below the alum of the shock tower itself. thats how i have mine setup. this not only keep the plastic from getting scratched up, but puts less stress on the shock tower as well. i attached a pic of mine so you can see what i mean by lowering the upper shock mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk24947.jpg
Views:	628
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	1542610  
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:00 AM
  #20
Evandro J
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi
How do I stop my Tornado S30 fast as in the video below?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ml0_16eEPqE
Evandro J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:07 PM
  #21
zackS30
 
zackS30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quickest way to stop the nitro engine is to put ur finger over the exhaust hole. If u do it right it wont burn u. Just,a quick finger place and move
zackS30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 07:13 PM
  #22
osubuckeyesgsxr750
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just strapped a gps to my s30 and it hit 45mph stock. I had it on the rich side as well with clear visible smoke. Duratrax temp read just a little past 200 degrees. I just bought a new Rustler vxl and ran it on the same day (within minutes apart) and it did 38MPH. Go redcat this was stock vs stock. I love my s30
osubuckeyesgsxr750 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 07:46 AM
  #23
falkorr2002
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top speed: New vs old(er) Tornados

I have 2 Tornado nitros. A 7 year old BB and a 1 month old S30. The only reason I bought another is because of all of the replacement parts that I already had.
So, I took them both to a large parking lot to get a speed comparison...
Both cars are entirely stock; no performance enhancements. Lots of broken parts have been replaced, but nothing that would increase speed.
I attached an old cell phone with a speedometer app on the spoiler and didn't attach the body shell. So if anything, weight was added.

The BB maxed at 47.5 MPH and the S30 hit 51.23 MPH.

I have put Proline Dirt Hawgs on the new one; trying to make it more of a street car with tight cornering.

I am utterly surprised that the BB went that fast. It was my first nitro. I got it because it was cheap and I thought that a gas RC car would be awesome. Boy....I was wrong about the cheap part. That was my "learning how to drive" car. And learning that this hobby isn't cheap when walls are being hit at top speed.
This engine wasn't even broke in. I remember tearing the box open and doing full throttle donuts within 10 minutes.

Anyway, sorry about the tangent.

There are still some tweaks that need to be done and some deep cleaning on my BB. But 50+ MPH, stock out of the box (after proper engine break in, screws and gear mesh double checked and carb set up correctly) is 100% realistic.
falkorr2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:10 PM.