Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

earthquake 3.0 brakes

Reply
Old 01-25-2011, 01:27 PM
  #1
209mark123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default earthquake 3.0 brakes



Im fairly new to nitro cars and have recently purchased a redcat racing earthquake 3,0. Anyways Im havin problems with the brakes, Im having to adjust them a lot Im not sure if this is normal or what. But what happens is Iadjust them and after 5-10 mins of running the car the brakes seem to be barely working. Then Iadjust them again and they are fine for a while but Im not sure what to expect out of the brakes on these cars beings this is the first one Ihave ever owned. Also Iwas thinkin about buying a steel brake disk for the car and some special brake pads whatever that means, please let me know your thoughts if you think this would help and if Ias a beginner to the sport could install them on my own.

209mark123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:33 PM
  #2
DMCB
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: rock hill, SC
Posts: 199
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: earthquake 3.0 brakes

almost everybody had the same problem. you'll fix this by taking the pads off and sand the calipers for better grip, but you can also add two brake kits on it. both of those ideas work great. but really i think those pads are stupid cuz they don't work when they get greasy.
DMCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:40 PM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: earthquake 3.0 brakes

i had a simillar issue with my backdraft 3.5.
ended up being the throttle/brake servo going out.
redcat replaced it for me.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 03:07 AM
  #4
209mark123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: earthquake 3.0 brakes

Thanks for the replies I will look into it,  the question I have is it hard to take it apart enough to get to the brakes. Im just asking cause I have never taken it apart that far before
209mark123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:08 AM
  #5
cswtornado
 
cswtornado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: F-------, ME
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: earthquake 3.0 brakes

Not really, just remember where all the stuff goes and you'll be fine. As long as you don't take apart the differentials or engine you won't have any issues with over-complicated-ness.
cswtornado is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:53 AM.