Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

Reply
Old 02-28-2011, 03:54 PM
  #1
brew99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

Anyone running the Caldera 10e on 3s lipo? How is the drivetrain holding up, and is there a noticable difference of 3s compared to 2s? What about heat, any issue?

I'm thinking of trying this, but would like to get any real world experiences with this set-up.
Thanks,
brew99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 04:16 PM
  #2
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

big difference from 2s!
it wheelies like crazy. a guy i sold one to ran his on 3s and said it kept flipping over onto the body.

you have to wire the ESC fan to run off the Rx power. otherwise it will burnout.

i have run my volcano epx pro with a traxxas vxl system on 3s and the drivetrain has held up. and IMO the caldera 10e is a better truck than the volcano epx pro.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:35 PM
  #3
brew99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

So does the ESC fan just go to the 3rd ch on the rx? I wonder if the wheely bar for the earthquake 8e fits the caldera?

brew99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:48 PM
  #4
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: brew99

So does the ESC fan just go to the 3rd ch on the rx? I wonder if the wheely bar for the earthquake 8e fits the caldera?

u got it, just wire the fan to the 3rd channel for power. i have the 8E wheely bar and a buddy of mine has a caldera. i will ask him to bring it over and see it it may fit. i kinda doubt it, as the 2 trucks dont share the same chassis. but ill let you know after i have tried.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 02:27 PM
  #5
brew99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

Oh that would be great if you could look into that. Even if it looks like it would work with a few mods (maybe drilling of mounting holes) it might be worth trying.
brew99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:00 PM
  #6
jimjw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fredonia, KS
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

3s lipo is not too much for the esc on caldera 10e?
jimjw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:30 PM
  #7
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jimjw

3s lipo is not too much for the esc on caldera 10e?
the ESC and motor can handle 3s lipo.
the stock ESC fan needs to be replaced....or re-wired to run off the Rx battery port.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:47 PM
  #8
brew99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

Hey Nitro, were you ever able to hook-up with your friends caldera 10e to see if the wheelly-bar for the 8e fits on the caldera?

Anyone else know of a wheelly bar to fit on the caldera 10e?

Thanks all,
brew99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:30 PM
  #9
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: brew99

Hey Nitro, were you ever able to hook-up with your friends caldera 10e to see if the wheelly-bar for the 8e fits on the caldera?

Anyone else know of a wheelly bar to fit on the caldera 10e?

Thanks all,
sorry, dont really see a way to make it work.

i do know a simple way to make a basic wheely bar.

see the 4 screws under the rear of the truck? take a piece of paper and mark on the paper the location of the screws by laying the paper over them and feeling where the screws are.
now you have a template to trasnfer onto a piece of metal. something 1/8 thick should do the job. look at hardware stores. a piece 6inch long and 3 inch wide wont cost much.
then use the template to drill 4 holes. now you can bolt the piece of metal up under the chassis.
you can make a bend in the metal, to adjust the angle of the wheely bar.
wheels could be added, but are not needed. the bar will simply scrap on the road and keep the truck from flipping over.

see the pic, and think of it minus the wheels. just a piece of metal with a bend and 4 holes so you can bolt it to the underside of the chassis.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49620.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	1576136  
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:36 PM
  #10
jimjw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fredonia, KS
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

how waterproof is the speed controller? i mean if i waterproof the reciever and servo bout how much water can i handle?
jimjw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:05 PM
  #11
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: jimjw

how waterproof is the speed controller? i mean if i waterproof the reciever and servo bout how much water can i handle?
the ESC is listed as "splash proof"
that is to say, if 1-2 drops of water get on it it should be OK.

but its a good idea to do some extra waterproofing.
you can go the full-route, but opening the ESC case and coating it with plastic dip(youtube vids show how)
or you can make a simple box to keep water splashing off the tires from landing on top of the ESC. just make sure the top of the box sits above the fan a bit to give it room to still move air for cooling.
this will not make the ESC safe to submerge under water, but will keep it safe from snow or say wet grass driving.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:42 PM
  #12
jimjw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fredonia, KS
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

thanks for the help. alot of the information i,ve found is vague at best. if you get a chance i have a few more questions under caldera 10e beef. or if you have any friends to i would appreciate thier input as well.
jimjw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:14 PM
  #13
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jimjw

thanks for the help. alot of the information i,ve found is vague at best. if you get a chance i have a few more questions under caldera 10e beef. or if you have any friends to i would appreciate thier input as well.
this weekend i will most likely be working on one of my friends calderas.
i will see about making up a quick wheely bar and maybe the WT box and take some pics for you.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:37 PM
  #14
jimjw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fredonia, KS
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

that's killer. i look forward to seeing your work
jimjw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:46 PM
  #15
twobnvd
 
twobnvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

ANyone have video? I too would like to see this..
twobnvd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:37 PM
  #16
twobnvd
 
twobnvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

noone? I bought my son a 10e and would love to see this before I try it and burn something up. I know people say it can be done but I want to see if it is worth the work.
twobnvd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 05:49 PM
  #17
mustangdevil302
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I was hoping for some help, can someone walk me thru how to wire my esc to the 3rd channel on my Caldera 10e so I can run a 3s lipo? before I knew better I ran a 3s on the factory setup and fried my esc in less than 5 minutes. Thanx
mustangdevil302 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 AM.