Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 17 of 17

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    , BC, CANADA
    Posts
    50
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    Anyone running the Caldera 10e on 3s lipo? How is the drivetrain holding up, and is there a noticable difference of 3s compared to 2s? What about heat, any issue?

    I'm thinking of trying this, but would like to get any real world experiences with this set-up.
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    big difference from 2s!
    it wheelies like crazy. a guy i sold one to ran his on 3s and said it kept flipping over onto the body.

    you have to wire the ESC fan to run off the Rx power. otherwise it will burnout.

    i have run my volcano epx pro with a traxxas vxl system on 3s and the drivetrain has held up. and IMO the caldera 10e is a better truck than the volcano epx pro.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    , BC, CANADA
    Posts
    50
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    So does the ESC fan just go to the 3rd ch on the rx? I wonder if the wheely bar for the earthquake 8e fits the caldera?


  4. #4
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


    ORIGINAL: brew99

    So does the ESC fan just go to the 3rd ch on the rx?** I wonder if the wheely bar for the earthquake 8e fits the caldera?

    u got it, just wire the fan to the 3rd channel for power. i have the 8E wheely bar and a buddy of mine has a caldera. i will ask him to bring it over and see it it may fit. i kinda doubt it, as the 2 trucks dont share the same chassis. but ill let you know after i have tried.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    , BC, CANADA
    Posts
    50
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    Oh that would be great if you could look into that. Even if it looks like it would work with a few mods (maybe drilling of mounting holes) it might be worth trying.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    fredonia, KS
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    3s lipo is not too much for the esc on caldera 10e?

  7. #7
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


    ORIGINAL: jimjw

    3s lipo is not too much for the esc on caldera 10e?
    the ESC and motor can handle 3s lipo.
    the stock ESC fan needs to be replaced....or re-wired to run off the Rx battery port.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    , BC, CANADA
    Posts
    50
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    Hey Nitro, were you ever able to hook-up with your friends caldera 10e to see if the wheelly-bar for the 8e fits on the caldera?

    Anyone else know of a wheelly bar to fit on the caldera 10e?

    Thanks all,

  9. #9
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


    ORIGINAL: brew99

    Hey Nitro,* were you ever able to hook-up with your friends caldera 10e to see if the wheelly-bar for the 8e fits on the caldera?**

    Anyone else know of a wheelly bar to fit on the caldera 10e?

    Thanks all,
    sorry, dont really see a way to make it work.

    i do know a simple way to make a basic wheely bar.

    see the 4 screws under the rear of the truck? take a piece of paper and mark on the paper the location of the screws by laying the paper over them and feeling where the screws are.
    now you have a template to trasnfer onto a piece of metal. something 1/8 thick should do the job. look at hardware stores. a piece 6inch long and 3 inch wide wont cost much.
    then use the template to drill 4 holes. now you can bolt the piece of metal up under the chassis.
    you can make a bend in the metal, to adjust the angle of the wheely bar.
    wheels could be added, but are not needed. the bar will simply scrap on the road and keep the truck from flipping over.

    see the pic, and think of it minus the wheels. just a piece of metal with a bend and 4 holes so you can bolt it to the underside of the chassis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr49620.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	1576136  
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    fredonia, KS
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    how waterproof is the speed controller? i mean if i waterproof the reciever and servo bout how much water can i handle?

  11. #11
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    ORIGINAL: jimjw

    how waterproof is the speed controller? i mean if i waterproof the reciever and servo bout how much water can i handle?
    the ESC is listed as "splash proof"
    that is to say, if 1-2 drops of water get on it it should be OK.

    but its a good idea to do some extra waterproofing.
    you can go the full-route, but opening the ESC case and coating it with plastic dip(youtube vids show how)
    or you can make a simple box to keep water splashing off the tires from landing on top of the ESC. just make sure the top of the box sits above the fan a bit to give it room to still move air for cooling.
    this will not make the ESC safe to submerge under water, but will keep it safe from snow or say wet grass driving.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    fredonia, KS
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    thanks for the help. alot of the information i,ve found is vague at best. if you get a chance i have a few more questions under caldera 10e beef. or if you have any friends to i would appreciate thier input as well.

  13. #13
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?


    ORIGINAL: jimjw

    thanks for the help. alot of the information i,ve found is vague at best. if you get a chance i have a few more questions under caldera 10e beef.* or if you have any friends to i would appreciate thier input as well.
    this weekend i will most likely be working on one of my friends calderas.
    i will see about making up a quick wheely bar and maybe the WT box and take some pics for you.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    fredonia, KS
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    that's killer. i look forward to seeing your work

  15. #15
    twobnvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    ANyone have video? I too would like to see this..
    3 savages & a Earthquake 8E NO SHELF QUEENS HERE!!

  16. #16
    twobnvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10e on 3s lipo?

    noone? I bought my son a 10e and would love to see this before I try it and burn something up. I know people say it can be done but I want to see if it is worth the work.
    3 savages & a Earthquake 8E NO SHELF QUEENS HERE!!

  17. #17
    I was hoping for some help, can someone walk me thru how to wire my esc to the 3rd channel on my Caldera 10e so I can run a 3s lipo? before I knew better I ran a 3s on the factory setup and fried my esc in less than 5 minutes. Thanx


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.