Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Caldera 10E


  1. #1
    twobnvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Caldera 10E

    Anyone running 3's through theres yet? I want to see a video as I am about to buy some more batteries and if it is a big improvement I will buy 3's if not Ill just save the money and buy 2's as this thing flies with 2's. My middle son runs this truck as I run the Eartquake 8E but his is holding up great and he hasnt broken anything except for the body and the sterring servo but both from extreme crashes, Please posta video or a link to a video if anyone has one or has seen one,
    THANKS!!
    3 savages & a Earthquake 8E NO SHELF QUEENS HERE!!

  2. #2
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    8,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10E

    its a big difference between 3s and 2s on the caldera!
    the extra voltage means the motor will spin about 3000rpms faster than on a 2s lipo.

    honestly, going from a 6cell nimh to a 2s lipo will be a big improvement. and for a boy, i would think 2s lipo will be plenty. expect the truck to do 35-40mph on 2s lipo.

    and if you do go 3s lipo, you have to re-wire the stock fan to run of the Reciever's 3rd channel.
    SC10 brushless, Tamiya Lunchbox, Stampede VXL, Tamiya Super Hornet, DTX CC

  3. #3
    twobnvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10E

    Thanks for the heads up he is currently running on 2'3 and loves it but since buying new packs thinkoing of going 3's but only if performance is noticable. So you hust wire fans to the extra channel on the reciever?
    Thanks
    3 savages & a Earthquake 8E NO SHELF QUEENS HERE!!

  4. #4
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    8,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10E


    ORIGINAL: twobnvd

    Thanks for the heads up he is currently running on 2'3 and loves it but since buying new packs thinkoing of going 3's but only if performance is noticable. So you hust wire fans to the extra channel on the reciever?
    Thanks
    yes, the fan is powered of the ESC. if you run 3s the fan will get too much voltage.

    just cut the wires where they meet the board, and then add wire with a Rx plug(hobby shops will have them)
    that will power the fan off the Rx and give the fan the proper voltage no matter what battery you run.

    on 2s lipo, the caldera is quick. on 3s, it can wheely! on 3s it will be just as fast as the earthquake.
    SC10 brushless, Tamiya Lunchbox, Stampede VXL, Tamiya Super Hornet, DTX CC

  5. #5
    twobnvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10E

    Nice. I will have to give this a shot. I wish someone had a video like a battery comparison. But guess ill have to do it after I get the 3's in. this would also giver longer run time if say using a 3 - 5000 compared to 2 - 5000 right as it would take longer to reach low voltage cutoff? As you are starting with a higher voltage and draing more cells? Just a thought.
    3 savages & a Earthquake 8E NO SHELF QUEENS HERE!!

  6. #6
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    8,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Caldera 10E


    ORIGINAL: twobnvd

    Nice. I will have to give this a shot. I wish someone had a video like a battery comparison. But guess ill have to do it after I get the 3's in. this would also giver longer run time if say using a 3 - 5000 compared to 2 - 5000 right as it would take longer to reach low voltage cutoff? As you are starting with a higher voltage and draing more cells? Just a thought.
    a 3s 5000mah and a 2s 5000mah will provide about the same runtime.
    the 3s might be alittle higher, only cause you are not as likely to run WOT as much.

    my buddy has a 2s and a 3s he ordered for his caldera. he should get them in 1-2 weeks. as warmer weather comes and i get more free time, i hope to make a bunch of RC vids with redcats in them.
    i have a RS10 and the earthquake 8E and a lighting epx pro.
    2 of my friends have caldera 10e's and one of them is getting a aftershock 3.5 on friday.
    i hope we can all get together and have a redcat bash some weekend!
    SC10 brushless, Tamiya Lunchbox, Stampede VXL, Tamiya Super Hornet, DTX CC


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.