Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

aftershock 8e differential oil?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2011, 07:18 AM
brew99

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default aftershock 8e differential oil?

So I just received a new aftershock 8e, opened the box, and noticed some oil stains on the inside of the cardboard box (3 diff spots). Thought that was odd, and started looking at the truck. All three differentials casings seemed to be soaked in a clear oil on the plastics. Since this didn't seem right to me (and I'm no expert), i decided to open the differentials, and they were dry (no grease). They did seem to have some residual oil, but not much.

As I opened the front and rear differential i added grease, so I should be good there, but i couldn't get the centre out as the set screw on the diff cups was so secure it just stripped the screw (both cups are like this). I'm assuming I need to remove this to get at the differential as I couldn't see any other way.

Is Redcat filling these with oil now, and mine just happened to leak everywhere? What else could this be? i did check the shocks and they seemed clean and worked properly.

What do you guys think?

Old 04-05-2011, 07:26 AM
JTuepker1

Default RE: aftershock 8e differential oil?

Diffs are the first thing i change when i get a new rc no matter what. Currently on my back draft, same set up as aftershock im running 5k front 5k middle and 3k rear, i run on hard packed clay, depending on might change a bit as lose dirt you might want more or less bite. Good rule of thumb i carry 5k 4k 3k diff oils.
Old 04-05-2011, 09:14 AM
brew99

Nice info on the oils, but this shouldn't leak out of them should it? What's up with that, all three of them are like this.

ORIGINAL: JTuepker1