Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

A Few Questions (EQ8E)

Old 05-04-2011, 05:39 PM
XtrmTJ
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Few Questions (EQ8E)

OK, Just got my new stub axles in and accualy got to run my EQ8E. (MAN is this thing fast!) First let me say I am a NOOB to go fast RC'ing. I rock crawl alot, but this EQ8E caught my eye and I wanted to try to go FAST. I got a wheelie Bar with my purchase, how ever it wants to wheelie in reverse ? I am going to turn that to 50% and see if that helps. I locked the center diff and put ductape inside the tires, both helped ballooning alot. I read how to setup an offroadRC and that helped alot also. I think I toed in too much though. I ran it on the road for just a few minutes (slow) and in my front yard for a few more minutes. The motor got real hot. Too hot to touch. Is this bad ? How do I fix it ? Head sink w/fan ? Sterring is super touchy, can it be turned down ? Sorry for all the noob questions, just trying to learn this beast (lol). I did learn one thing, I am going slow untill I get a handle on this monster !
Thanks for any comments, advice or help !
Smitty
Old 05-04-2011, 07:56 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: A Few Questions (EQ8E)

i have the same issue with steering on my E 8e. its very touchy. you can adjust the steering duel rate noob on the radio. it will help alittle.

and as for the motor, a brushless motor can run upto 190degrees and not be damaged. obviously, thats way to hot to touch with your hand. the motor could be running only 150 and thats still to hot to touch.
a temp gun is handy

but i did buy the heatsink and fan upgrade for my E8e. made a 25+ degree drop in temps. i was running about 175 at the end of a pack. now i run under 150 degrees.

the ESC runs super cool in this truck, which impressed me. only running 100-110 on hot days.