Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Do radios and batteries make that much difference?

Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Do radios and batteries make that much difference?

Old 07-27-2011, 04:24 PM
worknman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do radios and batteries make that much difference?

I finally got my Volcano EPX Pro up and running after redcat tech support walked me through the binding process. Everything seems to be working fine. My question is how long does a standard 2000mAH 7.2v Battery last? Is it beneficial to upgrade and if so what is the best battery to get? Also in regard to my radio, I have a DSM-2C 2.4ghz. I am looking to extend my range. Any recommendations would be great.

Also, does the length of the antenna from the receiver make any difference? I realize i have asked a lot a questions now (yes I am new to this) so ill hang up and listen.

Thanks again for any input.
Old 07-27-2011, 04:44 PM
AllAboutFunHobbies

Default RE: Do radios and batteries make that much difference?

ORIGINAL: worknman

I finally got my Volcano EPX Pro up and running after redcat tech support walked me through the binding process. Everything seems to be working fine. My question is how long does a standard 2000mAH 7.2v Battery last?
Ans: 5 to 10 minutes, maybe 15

Is it beneficial to upgrade and if so what is the best battery to get?
Ans: Yes it is benificial to upgrade to a larger milliamp battery. You can go up in Milli amps or up in voltage. Both will give you higher speeds and longer run times. You can up to 8.4Volts NIMH and go as high as 5000Mah or more or you could go Lipo. Lipo will give you much longer run times and much higher speeds. However if you go to lipo you need a charger that can handle lipo
[link=http://allaboutfunhobbies.com/store/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=turnigy&x=0&y=0]Lipo[/link]