Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

servo saver

Reply
Old 07-28-2011, 08:44 PM
  #1
D4nY
Thread Starter
 
D4nY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mirabel, QC, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo saver



Hi i would like to know if anybody has tips on how to adjust the servo saver? i own a volcano s30 and when it came from the factory it was very loose and my truck had problem turning. ive tightened it but wonder if it is too tight now.. .is there a trick to know how it should be set?

D4nY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:29 PM
  #2
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

Ijust finished replacing mine a few minutes ago. Ithink you are seeing just normal wear and tear, replacing mine tightened it right up and it was only $5. My old one wasnt really adjustable , seems soldered together or something, Itried to tighten it and it messed it up.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:28 AM
  #3
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

He's not seeing normal wear and tear if he took out of the box and it was loose.

It's kind of hard to explain what to adjust it to. The way we do it is, turn the wheel with your hand. it should be just tight enough so there is some give before the servo starts to move.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:14 PM
  #4
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

Imissed that part sorry.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 06:15 PM
  #5
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

if you have the car on and turn the wheels by hand you should see a gap form where the 2 parts of the saver meet with some pressure on turning it, not much pressure, if you start to feel too much resistance and no gap then its too tight. Make sure you have the radio on too so the servo wont move.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 06:42 PM
  #6
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

Ya he's right it will work better with the radio on.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 12:02 PM
  #7
lakesrunner
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: eden prairie, MN
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo saver

This was the first and only problem I've had since having the Volcano S30 for a month. The knurled nut for the saver kept moving up and would make it near impossible to turn on any surface. I tightened mine down and left a 2mm gap and put a few drops of loc-tite on top and has been fine now for 3 weeks or so.
lakesrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:11 PM.