Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Reply
Old 08-07-2011, 01:35 PM
  #1
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

My volcano epx cuts out at around 30ft from the controller. It sounds like the gear is slipping but after checking it out I think it is
a receiver problem. Can anyone with some know-how have a look at this video and tell me what part I need to replace?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gbvTT0Qgo4
Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 02:14 PM
  #2
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

does it stil maik da clickn noise wen ur standin neer it & driving in grass?
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 02:58 PM
  #3
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

I went out to double test that idea. It does not click/cutout when I stand near it even when going over grass or rough terrain. It does it mostly when more than 30ft away or if it is running
at full speed i.e. flat out on a straightaway.
Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:03 PM
  #4
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

so any time ur goin full speed, or just wen its 30+ ft away goin full speed.

i asume ur usin a am radio & truk has a brushd motor/ esc?
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:15 PM
  #5
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

A problem that changes with distance should be a radio issue. Recheck all the voltages in your batteries and make certain your antenna is tight.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 04:10 PM
  #6
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Yes, AM 2 channel radio stock issue. I checked the battery voltages, I have 2 batteries, one is an 1800 and reads 7.2 volts on about a 2/3 charge. The other is a 5000 and reads 8V fully charged.
The antenna pipe was glued into place because it kept falling out. I checked it's connection and still leads directly to the receiver.

Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 04:40 PM
  #7
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

its 1 of 3 things. low batterys in da transmitter, reciever, or esc.

receivrs range cood b bad, or da esc isnt puting out enuff voltage 2 da receivers b.e.c. circuit.

r da AA battrys inda transmitter good? if so,
do u have another radio sys 2 swap in & chek?
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:41 PM
  #8
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Thanks, I'll check on the transmitter as there are no batteries in the receiver itself. I put new alkaline batteries in it not too long ago but I've been using it quite a bit too. There is a battery level indicator
on the transmitter. Not sure exactly how to read it as it has always read "full" (green light) and "empty" (red light) at the same time. I assumed with both lights lit like that it means batteries are good.
Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 07:00 PM
  #9
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

da recievr gets its power frum da escs bec circuitry.

tx batts sound good. its eithr ur recievr or esc. best bet is 2 try a diffrent radio & reciever 1st. or xplain 2 redcat ur problem. they mite send u a new system
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:20 PM
  #10
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

What about your receiver antenna, is it straight and full length or balled up and wrapped around something?
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 03:27 AM
  #11
masterhacker1989
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Helenvillw, WI
Posts: 549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Buy a flysky gt3b, $35 shipped to your house, and it blows that stock away
masterhacker1989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:00 PM
  #12
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Masterhacker, can you put up a link to the flysky so I know what you are talkin bout? Thanks
Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:52 PM
  #13
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

3chnl version
http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-gt3b-carradio-lcd.html


2 chnl version.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/fs-g2-24ghz-radio.html

^ dats da same 2.4 radio dat redcat uses in all der brushless cars. i gots 1. no complaints heer
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 06:10 PM
  #14
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Your radio is an very inexpensive AM unit , there are a lot better radios on the market even Redcat has some nice 2.4 systems cheap.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:19 PM
  #15
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

It's funny it never used to do it. I would run it well over 100ft away or so and no problems. I guess stuff wears out and doesn't always work so well after a lot of use.
It's actually the second unit in there because the first one got corroded when exposed to water in storage. There was no way to securely fasten the new receiver so
I ended up having to "gorilla glue" it. (ok stop laughing) So, Im not looking forward to trying to figure out how to remove it for another transmitter lol.

Thanks for the tips, I think it probably is the transmitter. If I get a better one such as the flysky, I should be ok with the 2 channel as it is not an expensive truck.

Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:48 PM
  #16
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Since it is a crystal based system you could have a cracked crystal and simply need to replace one or both.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:37 AM
  #17
masterhacker1989
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Helenvillw, WI
Posts: 549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Its not the same radio redcat uses, it the same int the sense that its 2,4ghz, other than that, not really the same at all, 1 has a screen, one doesnt, one has adjustable endpoints, one doesnt.
masterhacker1989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 06:47 AM
  #18
xerxes
 
xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: cicero, IL
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

i no u aint talkn 2 me [&:]
xerxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:03 PM
  #19
Meafordguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

Redcat got back to me and has their version of a flysky.  sounds like this is what I need to do, thanks all!

Meafordguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:56 PM
  #20
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

It is a pretty good inexpensive system it should work great for you.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:28 AM
  #21
masterhacker1989
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Helenvillw, WI
Posts: 549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano EPX cutting out at 30ft

well its not the same redcat uses, if you meant the 2 channel That is the same, my mistake, i check out rcu b4 bed, and Im isually pretty tired at that point
anyways don't waste your money on redcats radio, order the flysky gt3b, its amazing, if your worried about installing it, it literally takes about 2 minutes, the gt3b has like 4x more features than the redcat branded fly sky one. Its as easy to install as the redcat one. I put that radio up there with the $200+ radios out there, it performs just as well as them. plus with some modding you can make it a 6 channel radio, with dual esc compatability. seriously though get that radio over the redcat one
masterhacker1989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:05 AM.