Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Please Help

Reply
Old 08-24-2011, 10:55 AM
  #1
R0cky23
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Please Help

So I got my Volcano S30 brand new yesterday, got it out today, Put Lock titght on the motor screws but not sure where the grup screws are?
Also I tried to start it, fuel, airfilter oil, baatterys, primed it, know the glow plug works because I tested it. but it still wont start.

So ifanyone could tell me where the grub screws and/or why it might not be starting would be awesome thanks
R0cky23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 04:54 PM
  #2
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

you could have over-primmed it, thus flooding the motor.

with a new motor, its a good idea to pre-heat it with a hair dryer. it will make it easier to start, or pull the recoil cord.

there are grub screws on the drive cups for the center drive shafts.

what fuel are you using?

Its usually tough getting a motor to run during the break-in process. once the motor is broken in, it will be much easier to start and keep running.

dont forget to check the "how to" vids: http://www.redcatracing.com/informat...otraining.html
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 08:39 PM
  #3
R0cky23
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

Ok I ended up getting it started, and got those screws done.

I am using 18% wildcat nitro fuel

just working on tunning it now
R0cky23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 06:09 AM
  #4
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

have you done the break-in process yet?
you dont tune the motor for power before its broken in (piston to cylinder)
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:36 AM
  #5
R0cky23
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

I did one tank of it just idlein, then another doing figure eighgts
but the truck was not stoping so I ended up going through a tank figuring out how to tune it right so it would go back to idle
R0cky23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:08 AM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

its fine to be running figure 8's. but you need to do a couple more tanks of that, each time leaning out the high speed needle alittle. this allows the motor to heat up alittle more each tank.
no harsh full throttle or harsh braking until the breakin is done.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:24 AM
  #7
R0cky23
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please Help

Ya I have proboly done 1/4 throttle on the figure 8
R0cky23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:18 AM.