Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

Reply
Old 08-27-2011, 05:02 AM
  #1
dsomonster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>



Does Redcat, or any other manufacturer for that matter, make a kill switch that works with the stock Redcat radio for the 1/5 Rampage XT? Iread mjp777's post, but was wondering if it could be done without spending more money on new radio. If that is the only option, then I will have no choice. I don't feel like running after arunaway Rampage and seeing what kind of destruction it leaves in it's path.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

-Ron in SoCal

dsomonster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 05:42 AM
  #2
dsomonster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

Alright, did a lot more research. Killer Bee has a V2 and V2s that works with 2 channel radios. Along with a splitter I think this will work with the stock radio that comes with the Redcat Rampage XT. Before Iorder this up, does anyone have any experience with this kill switch? Is it fully compatible? I will email killer bee and if I find anything out, I will let you all know.

Thanks
dsomonster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 06:45 AM
  #3
foxys
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

To be honest I switched to the GT3B radio when I got my car, never even put batteries in the stock one.  I can say that a Killer Bee v1 works perfect with the GT3B.  I do know that Killer bee advises NOT to use it on a channel with fail safe on it, so it will NOT work with the stock radio as there is a built in failsafe on the throttle.
foxys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:05 AM
  #4
rchobbyunlimited
 
rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riverdale, GA
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

That is correct with the stock radio it has the buit in fail safe and its a hit or miss with the kill switch and you would have to turn the radio off for the kill switch to kick in. The radio that was mention is a great radio for just $35.00 and it has a 3rd channel and you can avitivate the kill switch just by pressing the 3rd channel button which is alot better.
rchobbyunlimited is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 07:06 AM
  #5
dsomonster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

I knew I would get good information here. Alright time to shop for a GT3B radio!

Hopefully it gets here the same time as the Rampage.

-Ron
dsomonster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 02:31 PM
  #6
rchobbyunlimited
 
rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riverdale, GA
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

http://www.nitrorcx.com/79p-gt3b-carradio-lcd.html

They ship fast
rchobbyunlimited is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 07:54 PM
  #7
dsomonster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rchobbyunlimited

http://www.nitrorcx.com/79p-gt3b-carradio-lcd.html

They ship fast
Thanks for the link. You guys have been a big help. Wish me luck.

-Ron
dsomonster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:45 AM
  #8
rchobbyunlimited
 
rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riverdale, GA
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

Your welcome good luck and have great fun you also might want to sign up at http://www.redcatrampageforum.com/

another great forum as this one but they are for the large scale rc with super great information for 1/5 scale rc.
rchobbyunlimited is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 10:11 AM
  #9
zazza
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Qormi, MALTA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

any help on how to make a range test on gt3b transmitter??  is test a test mode/button??
zazza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:35 PM
  #10
foxys
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

I range test by putting the model on blocks, with someone watching it, they keep their arm raised as long as the wheels keep turning left-right. Do this with the motor running so you can be sure that you have "running range" Keep walking away until the help puts their arm down. There is no test possible from the transmitter that can tell you range like a real world test.
foxys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:00 PM
  #11
rchobbyunlimited
 
rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riverdale, GA
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>


Quote:
ORIGINAL: foxys

I range test by putting the model on blocks, with someone watching it, they keep their arm raised as long as the wheels keep turning left-right. Do this with the motor running so you can be sure that you have "running range" Keep walking away until the help puts their arm down. There is no test possible from the transmitter that can tell you range like a real world test.
1+ Great idea

rchobbyunlimited is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:21 PM
  #12
zazza
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Qormi, MALTA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>



thx foxys. that seems to be the most appropriate way...

zazza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:31 PM.