Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 12 of 12

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>



    Does Redcat, or any other manufacturer for that matter, make a kill switch that works with the stock Redcat radio for the 1/5 Rampage XT? Iread mjp777's post, but was wondering if it could be done without spending more money on new radio. If that is the only option, then I will have no choice. I don't feel like running after arunaway Rampage and seeing what kind of destruction it leaves in it's path.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    -Ron in SoCal


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    Alright, did a lot more research. Killer Bee has a V2 and V2s that works with 2 channel radios. Along with a splitter I think this will work with the stock radio that comes with the Redcat Rampage XT. Before Iorder this up, does anyone have any experience with this kill switch? Is it fully compatible? I will email killer bee and if I find anything out, I will let you all know.

    Thanks

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Great Falls, MT
    Posts
    139

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    To be honest I switched to the GT3B radio when I got my car, never even put batteries in the stock one.  I can say that a Killer Bee v1 works perfect with the GT3B.  I do know that Killer bee advises NOT to use it on a channel with fail safe on it, so it will NOT work with the stock radio as there is a built in failsafe on the throttle.

  4. #4
    rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    383
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    That is correct with the stock radio it has the buit in fail safe and its a hit or miss with the kill switch and you would have to turn the radio off for the kill switch to kick in. The radio that was mention is a great radio for just $35.00 and it has a 3rd channel and you can avitivate the kill switch just by pressing the 3rd channel button which is alot better.
    Team Anaconda R/C Racing
    http://www.teamanaconda.com/

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    I knew I would get good information here. Alright time to shop for a GT3B radio!

    Hopefully it gets here the same time as the Rampage.

    -Ron

  6. #6
    rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    383
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    Team Anaconda R/C Racing
    http://www.teamanaconda.com/

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>


    ORIGINAL: rchobbyunlimited

    http://www.nitrorcx.com/79p-gt3b-carradio-lcd.html

    They ship fast
    Thanks for the link. You guys have been a big help. Wish me luck.

    -Ron

  8. #8
    rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    383
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    Your welcome good luck and have great fun you also might want to sign up at http://www.redcatrampageforum.com/

    another great forum as this one but they are for the large scale rc with super great information for 1/5 scale rc.
    Team Anaconda R/C Racing
    http://www.teamanaconda.com/

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Qormi, MALTA
    Posts
    56
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    any help on how to make a range test on gt3b transmitter??  is test a test mode/button??

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Great Falls, MT
    Posts
    139

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>

    I range test by putting the model on blocks, with someone watching it, they keep their arm raised as long as the wheels keep turning left-right. Do this with the motor running so you can be sure that you have "running range" Keep walking away until the help puts their arm down. There is no test possible from the transmitter that can tell you range like a real world test.

  11. #11
    rchobbyunlimited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    383
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>


    ORIGINAL: foxys

    I range test by putting the model on blocks, with someone watching it, they keep their arm raised as long as the wheels keep turning left-right. Do this with the motor running so you can be sure that you have "running range" Keep walking away until the help puts their arm down. There is no test possible from the transmitter that can tell you range like a real world test.
    1+ Great idea

    Team Anaconda R/C Racing
    http://www.teamanaconda.com/

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Qormi, MALTA
    Posts
    56
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kill Switch...Anyone?>>>>>>



    thx foxys. that seems to be the most appropriate way...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.