Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Caldera Frankenstein?

Reply
Old 09-07-2011, 07:15 PM
  #1
Wearyman
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Caldera Frankenstein?

I really love my Caldera 10e, and my FPV project on it is coming along nicely. However I am frustrated by the inability to add more than a single battery into the 10e's frame. It's just so narrow that I simply cannot fit another battery in there.

What I'm wondering is: Would it be possible to swap out the wider chassis plate from a Caldera 3.0 into a 10e? They appear to be the same length, and they have identical front and rear mount points. But would I be able to mount the brushless motor and backbone on it? What about the side rails? Would they fit?

Has anyone at Redcat tried this or know of anyone who has?
Wearyman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:17 PM
  #2
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

What are you looking for? longer run time? You can use a higher capacity battery. What do you have now for battery?
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:21 PM
  #3
Wearyman
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

I'm looking for both longer run time and more space for a higher capacity battery. Right now the largest capacity battery hard case or soft that the Caldera 10e can fit is a 6000 mah LiPo. That's it. I'm looking for run times in the multiple HOUR range, which will require at least two 8000mah batteries. I can't even fit one of those in there right now, even with the stock battery mounts removed and just using velcro straps to hold the battery down. There just isn't enough space.
Wearyman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 09:50 PM
  #4
St33v3
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Quebec City, QC, CANADA
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

Use multiple 6000mah instead.

It only takes a few seconds to change the batterie and it allows the motor/esc to cool down a little bit.

St33v3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 04:24 AM
  #5
NewRageRC
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Palo, IA
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

Calderas share a lot of parts with the 1/8th scales. Easiest way would be to figure out the minimum amount of parts you'd need to convert to 1/8
NewRageRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 06:39 AM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

is the issue the space the FVP equip is taking up?
post a pic of how you have everything mounted.

cause i would think you could have the ESC/radio on the lower chassis opposite the battery, and that should leave enough space to mount a pack on the upper plate.
but is that where you have the FVP stuff?
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 10:50 AM
  #7
soldier5050
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Caldera Frankenstein?

you could always switch to lipo batteries . The truck is already brushless so the battery would work great  !
soldier5050 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:13 PM.