Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 53

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    brand new truck

    received my caldera 3.0 in the mail today.
    followed all steps before trying to get it started...ive been at it for the past 6hrs and the truck didnt even stay running for more than 2seconds.

    wht gives???

  2. #2
    Community Moderators Foxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
    Posts
    17,985
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    Can you be a bit more specific about what you've tried and what exactly happens when you try to start it? Be very detailed, does the pull start feel very hard to pull? Have you tried changing any needle settings on the engine? As much detail as you can.
    Down with the crew known to pump up the bass...
    We rock the joint at a cool, steady pace.
    Foxy
    RCU Community Moderator

  3. #3
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,065
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    agreed, more detail needed.

    altho the truck comes pre-set needle settings, altitude-air temp-humidity can all effect a nitro engine.

    Its also possible a new glow plug is needed. While glow plugs usually last many tanks of gas, you could have flooded the motor really bad, fouling the plug.
    Our the plug could have been bad out of the box.

    a bad plug can sometimes allow a motor to start, but not sustain RPMs.

    also, what fuel are you using?

    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    the needles are back to factory settings. the car just started..revved and died. the wheels moved.
    i have extra glow plugs tht i have tried also.

    changed my fuel lines because there was air in one of them

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    im using 20% nitro btw..
    i charged up my ingitor
    primed engine,noticed air bubbles
    changed both lines
    i did also mess with the needles after hours of pulling tht damn cord,but the LSN is 2 1/2 turns out

    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner

    agreed, more detail needed.

    altho the truck comes pre-set needle settings, altitude-air temp-humidity can all effect a nitro engine.

    Its also possible a new glow plug is needed. While glow plugs usually last many tanks of gas, you could have flooded the motor really bad, fouling the plug.
    Our the plug could have been bad out of the box.

    a bad plug can sometimes allow a motor to start, but not sustain RPMs.

    also, what fuel are you using?


  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Palo, IA
    Posts
    195
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    How much oil is in the fuel? We had some with 16% oil and could hardly run our trucks.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    hmm,it says 9% oil

  8. #8
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,065
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    have you adjusted all 3 needles?

    the high speed
    low speed
    and idle set screw

    if you have somebody help you, can you start the car and as soon as it start have the other person holding the radio give it some gas and see if it will stay running at speed. might just be an idle setting issue.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    took it to the hobby shop,and the same thing happened.
    the mechanic would get it started and it still dies..
    after some tuning..it started to run but then it would shut off on high throttle.

    that is when he told me something is wrong with the engine and that i should replace it via redcat...after asking him to try tuning again..it runs pretty good now but really rich.
    he says thats the only way it keeps goin..

    any thoughts?

  10. #10
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,065
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    i think those like to run rich anyway.

    you could just double check the screw that hold the heat sink on(near the glow plug)
    and the screws that hold the muffler(or bolts) to the motor.

    sometimes a leak can be there but be VERY small and hard to see.

    what kinda speed are you getting out of it?

    you could also check the fuel lines for damage, and make sure the gas tank top seals good.

    its funny the shop guy said there is something wrong with it, then got it running
    my LHS guys wont even tune a nitro for customers anymore. to much of a headache for them i guess.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    will double check the screws.
    im yet to drive it myself...which i will do shortly

    i already changed fuel lines hours after the truck arrived

    im gonna check back in again later

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    should i put some locktite on the wheel nuts??
    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner

    i think those like to run rich anyway.

    you could just double check the screw that hold the heat sink on(near the glow plug)
    and the screws that hold the muffler(or bolts) to the motor.

    sometimes a leak can be there but be VERY small and hard to see.

    what kinda speed are you getting out of it?

    you could also check the fuel lines for damage, and make sure the gas tank top seals good.

    its funny the shop guy said there is something wrong with it, then got it running
    my LHS guys wont even tune a nitro for customers anymore. to much of a headache for them i guess.

  13. #13
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,065
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck


    ORIGINAL: bkbajan

    should i put some locktite on the wheel nuts??
    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner

    i think those like to run rich anyway.

    you could just double check the screw that hold the heat sink on(near the glow plug)
    and the screws that hold the muffler(or bolts) to the motor.

    sometimes a leak can be there but be VERY small and hard to see.

    what kinda speed are you getting out of it?

    you could also check the fuel lines for damage, and make sure the gas tank top seals good.

    its funny the shop guy said there is something wrong with it, then got it running
    my LHS guys wont even tune a nitro for customers anymore. to much of a headache for them i guess.
    i just use wheel nuts with nylon in them.
    but yeh, locktite can do the job. just make sure to go very light on the amount and remember the next time you wanna take the wheels off that you will need to apply some force.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    ok,thanks
    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: bkbajan

    should i put some locktite on the wheel nuts??
    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner

    i think those like to run rich anyway.

    you could just double check the screw that hold the heat sink on(near the glow plug)
    and the screws that hold the muffler(or bolts) to the motor.

    sometimes a leak can be there but be VERY small and hard to see.

    what kinda speed are you getting out of it?

    you could also check the fuel lines for damage, and make sure the gas tank top seals good.

    its funny the shop guy said there is something wrong with it, then got it running
    my LHS guys wont even tune a nitro for customers anymore. to much of a headache for them i guess.
    i just use wheel nuts with nylon in them.
    but yeh, locktite can do the job. just make sure to go very light on the amount and remember the next time you wanna take the wheels off that you will need to apply some force.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    air leak, probably at the base of the carb or on the backplate, thats why you have to run it rich, to make up for the air its sucking in.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    how would i fix that?? would that leak also cause the car to die as im ready to move off?
    ORIGINAL: ehroof

    air leak, probably at the base of the carb or on the backplate, thats why you have to run it rich, to make up for the air its sucking in.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    finally drove the truck for a good two hours..ran nicely untill i smacked it into a curb lol
    left front dogbone came out the drive cup..and the screw on the bottom of the hub came out..fixed it on the spot.

    the brakes worked really good untill i didnt have any at all lol
    i ended up crashing again..breaking the shell,thats when i realized the tiny spring missing from the brake arm of the servo.

    only one major problem tho,when i start the car..remove the ignitor and hit the throttle the car sometimes quits
    so i'd have to hold the revs up before i actually get goin. there also seems to be some lag.

    im gonna go clean wht i can right now. any suggestions? after run oil?
    thanks for the input

  18. #18
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,065
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck


    ORIGINAL: bkbajan

    how would i fix that?? would that leak also cause the car to die as im ready to move off?
    ORIGINAL: ehroof

    air leak, probably at the base of the carb or on the backplate, thats why you have to run it rich, to make up for the air its sucking in.
    yes it would. as you increase the intake, you need more vacume to suck the fuel in.
    if there is a tiny leak somewhere, then there aint enough vaccume to sustain higher RPMS

    if the leak is at the carb or backplate, then the seals there may be worn. or the bolts/screws that hold them to the motor are not tight enough.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck


    ORIGINAL: bkbajan

    how would i fix that?? would that leak also cause the car to die as im ready to move off?
    ORIGINAL: ehroof

    air leak, probably at the base of the carb or on the backplate, thats why you have to run it rich, to make up for the air its sucking in.

    best way to seal it to remove the carb, you will see a small oring gasket there, put a little gasket sealer around that and put it back in, same for the backplate but be careful not to get any in the engine.

    A heat/fuel resistant sealer is the best, there is a copper one thats sold in most automotive stores that will work well.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  20. #20

    RE: brand new truck

    Don't forget the back plate too. Pull that off and slap a little on that one too. Also check to make sure your fuel tank is sealing properly. We actually had a guy come in to the store with one that didn't even have an O-ring straight from the factory. Also F.Y.I. that fuel tank is WAY to big for that engine and when you get to a half tank it will run lean. We don't ever recommend running them past a half to 3/4 empty.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    will get tht sealer asap.
    wht exactly is the back plate?
    ORIGINAL: AllAboutFunHobbies

    Don't forget the back plate too. Pull that off and slap a little on that one too. Also check to make sure your fuel tank is sealing properly. We actually had a guy come in to the store with one that didn't even have an O-ring straight from the factory. Also F.Y.I. that fuel tank is WAY to big for that engine and when you get to a half tank it will run lean. We don't ever recommend running them past a half to 3/4 empty.

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    backplate is what is behind the pullstart, you take the pullstart off and there are 4 screws, that is the backplate.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    ok,got ya. thanks

    do aftermarket servos come with springs??

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    Not that i know of, what kind of spring.... Also check your fuel tank, make sure its sealed good and check the exhaust gasket, the one between the engine and the header, if they leak it can also make an issue tuning and running.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    41
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: brand new truck

    i somehow lost the spring from the brake linkage
    ORIGINAL: ehroof

    Not that i know of, what kind of spring.... Also check your fuel tank, make sure its sealed good and check the exhaust gasket, the one between the engine and the header, if they leak it can also make an issue tuning and running.


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.