Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

upgrading servos?

Reply
Old 11-27-2011, 07:06 AM
  #1
Dads like rc too
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 754
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default upgrading servos?

Can anyone recommend a moderate upgrade to the stock servos on my Tornado s30? I want enough torque to turn stadium truck size dirt tires "2.2", but not so much that I can't keep batteries in it. Right now I run 2500 mah batteries which give me about a weeks worth of run time before I have to recharge. Also this is for rec use so I'm not looking for the most expensive race ready servo either, just a decent metal geared higher torque servo. Thanks.
Dads like rc too is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 08:45 AM
  #2
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,299
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: upgrading servos?

Ihave been installing the Associated metal gear S1903MG with good results. A decent servo for the price. Not a big upgrade in torque but stronger gears.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:07 AM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: upgrading servos?

i run these in many of my models: http://www.hobbypartz.com/servo-mg996r.html
they are not expensive, have more torque than most RTR servos, and are metal geared!
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:31 AM.